Heavy Hearted

So, I try to usually be funny, and I can occasionally be a little pouty or whiny on this blog, but today I’m genuinely heavy hearted.

Last week, we found out that my mother-in-law’s cancer has returned. It’s been a recurring theme for the past several years, but I try not to talk about it too much (see here, here, here). She was first diagnosed more than three years ago, and has been such a brave, strong survivor throughout. She’s done everything from continuing to exercise to becoming vegan in her quest to remain healthy.

It is so very frustrating to see someone who does all the right things have to continue to struggle. It’s heart-rending to know that she’s having trouble with breathing because the cancer is attacking her. It started as ovarian cancer and has spread to a couple of different places – lymph nodes and lungs.

So, I’m asking for two things from you, blog friends. One is your prayers and support, and the other is your advice. We live four hours from my in-laws, and thanks to law school, we’re tied down to San Antonio for at least another year. We can’t be there on a daily basis to help them with meals or to drive her to chemo sessions. We are doing what we can – calling, texting, praying, sending cards, but what else can we do to support them?

Today, just as a little something to make myself feel better, I painted my nails teal, which is the color for ovarian cancer.

Image

I sent the picture to my mother-in-law just to show her I was being supportive, and I’m spending lunch shopping for clothes for “Wear Teal Day” which is Sept. 7. But, what else can we do? Have any of you been in a similar situation and can you offer any advice. Thanks in advance for the kind words, kind thoughts and prayers.

 

PS If anyone would like the link to the blog about my MIL’s cancer survivor journey, just post your email address in the comments and I will send it to you.

6 responses to “Heavy Hearted

  1. So sorry to hear about your MIL. :( Count me in for “Wear Teal Day.” You should invite everyone to participate and send you photos of their outfits that day. Then you can send them to your MIL so she can see all the people who support her and her family. :)

  2. The only thing I can think of right now is to sign her up for Take Them A Meal, and create a schedule that would help her, and your FIL. Send it out to their friends, church family, etc, and you will have been the one to help take care of them by setting up a way to fulfill a daily need!

  3. So sorry to hear this. I will definitely add her and all those affected to my prayer list. Maybe you could send her little care packages, or send her a subscription to her favorite magazine? Just something fun that might pick her spirits up every month.

  4. I am so sorry to hear that it’s back. I can’t imagine how you all are dealing with it, since I’ve never had a diagnosis like that. I will definitely pray for you and yours.

  5. I would rock teal with you too! My heart and hugs go out to you and your family. It’s difficult to witness this situation and feel like you still want to do more. I’m sure your MIL appreciates it all – every phone call, photo, and treat helps!

    xoxo,
    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

Leave a Reply

