Thanks for the Bad Karma

I’m not saying that to anyone in particular, just to the three-day-weekend of last week in general. Of course, when you have the bliss of an entire extra day to hang out, eat cinnamon rolls in bed and enjoy the company of your again-pleasant significant other, you have to expect the following day to be a complete and total horror story.

Vengeance, thy name is Tuesday.

So, yesterday, I woke up with a horribly miserable blodshot eye. Singular. I proceeded to go to work and was so miserable that I couldn’t even look at another human being or a tearful Niagra Falls broke out on my watery-eyed face. Using the computer was an impossibility. So, I had to have a very sweet co-worker drive me to the eye doctor. Where I learned that I have ANOTHER eye infection. So, knowing the worst, I returned to work. Because of course the pharmacy was unable to fill my prescription in a timely manner. After working for about thirty more minutes, I realized there was no possible way I could keep going. It’s impossible to type when you can’t see and your eye is exploding out of your head.

So, I went home, laid on the couch for the remainder of the day and listened to Wife Swap. Yes, I meant that – listened. Because there was no way I could even look at the tv without my eye going into spasms. So I put a washcloth on my face and channeled a 50s housewife. And ate some of this:

Which is extremely good, even though it is chocolate ice cream (which I am not usually a big fan of). So, the day wasn’t a total loss. At around 6:30, Ducks came home, bearing my eyedrops, and I have never been so happy to see that man. HUGE improvements of the eyes ensued. Then, also continuing in the role of excellent husband, he made dinner.

Okay, so not a total loss of a day, just about 12 miserable hours pre-eye-drop.

THEN, Wednesday. Back to work. I have no car because of course I left it at work, vision being important to the driving thing. My work bestie, L, picked me up (have you noticed yet what excellent people I work with?) and took me to work. Apparently, the whole “glasses-instead-of-contacts” thing was not working for me, as, according a L, when we parked, she turned to open her door and heard a scream and I’d disappeared. Yep, I fell out of the car. Not good. Not good at all.

I now have a scraped knee and these beauties on my arm.

Ouch.

So, that’s how this week has decided to pay me back for the long weekend. So far.

Leave a Reply

