More New Things

In the same vein of new things happening with the beginning of law school, here are a couple of other great new things that have happened. Specifically things that are in conjunction with this blog.

1) Obviously, all of you! I’ve never really been a blogger before. At least, I’ve never been a real blogger; I’ve written a couple of little things on a blog that only two of my friends from college ever read. With this blog, however, I’ve gotten to meet a lot of you — all awesome women, all with great perspectives on life and all of whom make me smile and make me think and make me interested in something outside my small life/social circle. From reading about Crystal’s new job to Natalie’s first day of school to The Waspy Redhead’s latest cooking endeavor to Abbey’s gardening  to P.S. Jones’ freelance adventures, I’m excited to hear about what you all have done each day, what you’re planning and what you’re dreaming about (sorry – can’t mention every single person, but you’re all brilliant and fun-to-read).

And, when this type of thing bring me into contact with you all in real life, it’s just that much better. Who would’ve thought 10 or 15 years ago that you could actually make friends on the internet who weren’t trying to lure you into a Free Candy Van (my sister’s slang for a pedophile or other creeper)? But, really, it’s so cool. I’ve had the opportunity to meet both OhMyPuddin and MDLikeMe Kate and they are both really interesting women with unique perspectives and interesting lives. Without the internet, it would have been slim odds that we would have met or had the opportunity to get to know each other. Now, with blogging making our worlds smaller, I actually had the opportunity to meet Kate for a margarita and introduce our law students to one another.

2) A bet. Yep, a real life bet. Last Monday, Ducks mentioned to his friend AJ that we met Kate and J because of the blog world. Of course, AJ then clamored to know about the blog. And, I told him that it’s…duh…a Super Secret blog. So, he and I made a bet. If he finds the blog before Labor Day, I owe him a beer. If he is unsuccessful, he has to complete a handyman project at the new house with Ducks. According to him, he has a Super Knowledgable Internet Team on the job 24/7. So, we’ll see how this goes.

Anyway, so those are the new things that are happening. Now, excuse me, while I go talk Torts with my law student — and thanks to everyone for being my blog friends!

***ANNOYING UPDATE: This is why you should never draft posts ahead of time. I wrote this post yesterday so that I could post it this morning. Last night, AJ came over to talk about the first day of school with Ducks. I had made chicken and rice for dinner and while I ran an errand, the boys ate. Here’s how the pre-dinner conversation went:

Ducks: Do you want a plate or a bowl?

AJ: I’ll take a plate. I don’t really like bowls.

Ducks: Really? I like bowls. I almost always use a bowl.

AJ: I know. And, APPARENTLY YOU LEAVE THEM ON THE FLOOR!

So, he found it. He actually enlisted a mutual friend to track it down through people that I’m friends with on my personal Twitter. Which means I’m going to have to develop a special Legally Married Twitter account now…and manage three accounts. Sigh. So, if you have a Twitter account, post your handle in the comments so I can follow you.

And, Law School Wife, you were right about the whole blogger beware – can’t keep secrets on the Internet! 🙂

5 responses to “More New Things

  1. It has been great to get to know you as well!

    I manage two Twitter accounts, so I feel your pain. Thank goodness for Hootsuite! Here’s my handle for my law school blog: @trippinginheels

  2. Hey, I work from home so most of the people I talk to are online. Any time a Twitter friend is in Chicago, I have lunch with them and meet them in person. (If you’re ever in the Windy City, please send me a tweet.)

    But don’t feel too bad about AJ finding your “super secret blog.” It’s very hard to keep these things secret unless you keep them completely separate from your real life.

  3. Just wait until your husband’s WHOLE section, maybe even his WHOLE school knows about your blog. It’s a lot less fun then, so I hope it never happens to you!! It’s a very small reason, but still a reason, why I stopped blogging. There was just too much I either didn’t want to say or really couldn’t say without being like “Hey! My husband makes better grades than you!” or “This is my husband’s Fall OCI strategy,” etc. Don’t ever post anything you wouldn’t want everyone to read, because sooner or later (and I am speaking from experience) they will read it. :/

    • @LawSchoolWife – Eeek…yeah, I try to be really conscious about what I’m posting, but I guess in blogs, as in the rest of the world, anything you say can and will be used against you. Probably especially amongst aspiring lawyer. Hope you’re doing well – miss your updates, but understand what you’re saying about why you stopped. :-/

Leave a Reply

