Thoughts and Fantasy

Most people celebrate four seasons in the year However, in the Legally Married household, we really only acknowledge three.

It’s  not because we live in Texas. If we were basing it off that, we’d really only celebrate two – the 362 days of summer and the 3 days of winter.

Here in our home/family, it seems, our seasons revolve thus: football season, basketball season, baseball season. I’ve talked a bit before about how I like sports and bracketology, but my love of sports (with the possible exception of college basketball) pales in comparison with my husband’s. Thanks to the continuing proliferation of the seasons – longer baseball seasons, more preseason football, etc., etc., it’s doubtful that there is ever a day when some form of athletic competition is not shown on our television.

What’s my point with this?

Fantasy football. Well, fantasy anything really – sports-wise that is. My husband is o-b-s-e-s-s-e-d when it comes to fantasy sports. I once told him that if there were such a thing as fantasy grass-growing, he’d probably join a league for that. Seriously. And, to once and for all relegate my husband to the world of nerds and Mugglecast listeners, he also listens daily to the Fantasy Focus podcast. He’s these kids, pretty much:

(Video courtesy of ESPN)

Maybe I’m being a little overly sarcastic about this, because I also like fantasy sports. I’m in a fantasy league; I watch SportsCenter on a regular basis and I –oh, shame of shame — read ….and post… on message boards about the sports programs at my alma mater. I’ve even been known to listen to the Fantasy Focus podcast myself and to fantasize about being welcomed to the podcast’s Man’s League (which, as it sounds, has very few women in it). But, I mostly listen to the podcast for its freakishly amazing theme song, performed by international recording superstar Eric Hutchinson.

Alright, so I still haven’t gotten to the point. But here it is.

On Sunday night as I was driving home from the gym, I was so proud of my little law student for spending his Sunday in diligent study at the law school library. Then, I got a call from him that went a little something like this.

Ducks: Hey – I want to tell you something but don’t be mad (sidenote: Writing this, I’m seeing a trend that many of our blog-worthy conversations start with this phrase).

Me: Okay…?

Ducks: I just might have agreed to play in a fourth fantasy football league.

Me: ?!?!?!?!

Ducks: And, don’t get mad…..but I might have to pay to play.

Me: ?!?!?!

At least, according to the case I was reading the other day, there’s a difference in non-professional, person-to-person recreational gambling and professional. I can’t remember what that case was called, so you actual law students might have to help me out with this.

My concern is not so much with the money part, because he is a walking sports dictionary so I’m sure he’ll come out well in the league. The issue is the time needed to manage four — yes, FOUR — fantasy sports teams, along with all the research and gamewatching that Ducks finds essential to adequately performing his role as a fantasy owner. Yes, that was more sarcasm there.

How are you, the other students out there, finding your free time? Do you have time for extracurricular activities of this or a similar nature? Ducks has been great about spending a lot of time at the library and keeping up with his reading, but do those of you with more graduate school-type experience think that there’s time to do this kind of fun activity and stay on top of your homework and study responsibilities at the same time?

He is certain that he can handle it all and that he won’t get distracted, because fantasy football is apparently much less time-consuming than fantasy baseball or fantasy basketball. What do you think? Useful outlet for stress relief or possibility for distraction?

3 responses to “Thoughts and Fantasy

  1. Haha, I had to laugh reading this. I love that he called you from studying hard at the library to tell you about the 4th league!!

    I think that life is all about balance. You can’t have one big thing (professional school) take up your life completely, or you will be out of whack. (And, you’ll be missing out on…what’s that called… oh yeah, living life!!)

    My favorite things to do besides school are, in no particular order: go out to eat, garden, bake, explore the outdoors in the 3 days of Texas winter, and watch netflix at home with a nice glass of red wine and my boyfriend.

    I find that the internet, blogging, etc is a nice relaxing daily habit for me as well… used to be embarrassed about it, but I now embrace it as long as it’s not cutting into my other free time and work time too much.

    Enjoy the fantasy leagues!

  2. Oh and YES we do need to have a “ladies night out” and I would LOVE that starbucks card! Now I’m going to be dreaming of a latte when I wake up in the morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

