Cupcakes

As promised, here’s my post on cupcakes. First of all, I love them. I am not an excellent cook or baker, usually because I rush too much, but cupcakes seem to be am especially forgiving food. I mean, you mess up on icing one, you just throw it away (or secretly eat it) and you’ve still got 20+ fresh ones ahead of you with no mistakes in them – kind of like an Anne Shirley tomorrow.

Then, cupcake decorating is so much easier than cake decorating. I consider my cake decorating pas de resistance a guitar playing- Hello Kitty that I drew on my sister Amy’s seventh birthday cake. I spent a long time on it, and used many different icing tips and what not, and frankly, it wasn’t even that good. With a cupcake on the other hand, you just cut out some fondant shapes, press on some sprinkles and you’ve got something people might unjustly ooh and ahhh over. Seriously, you would not believe the compliments I got at work for my sprinkle technique (which is, put sprinkles in bowl, dunk cupcake into sprinkles. Way complex.). It’s minimal work for maximum reward, peeps. Which is obviously why I am not the one slaving away in law school.

This weekend, after waking up at 2:48 a.m. on Saturday, I was possessed of the notion of baking cupcakes. I found a recipe for brown sugar cupcakes online (thanks, Rebecca @ EzraPoundCake.com), went to the grocery store and got ready to bake. Yes, it wasn’t quite yet 4 a.m. at this time but whatever.

I made the cupcakes following the recipe but I did one thing differently: in each scoop of cupcake batter, I dropped in a ball of raw chocolate chip cookie dough. Then, I baked them according to directions. And, they were good. The cookie dough was all rich and surprising inside. Yum, yum, yum. I did not follow the recipe for the icing but instead just mixed brown sugar, cream cheese, a little milk and powdered sugar (no butter).

I am a little disappointed – okay, actually quite ashamed – of the only pictures I captured of these cupcakes. Taken with my iPhone camera at my office yesterday, they wouldn’t even qualify for The Waspy Redhead’s food stylist hall of shame. They’d be the horror story-type picture a food stylist tapes to her fridge to remind her not to eat commoner food. Even worse (and thus not posted here) is the picture my coworker tried to help me stage. I told her I wanted to get a picture of the inside of the cupcake so that I could post it. So, she obligingly ripped right into the middle of hers with her hands and held it out for me to photograph to my heart’s content. Suffice it to say, it was not pretty, friends.

Taken with my iPhone camera from the work bookshelf

But, looks are deceiving because they were GOOD. Our CEO even ate one. Which I rate as quite an accomplishment.

So, cupcakes. Little work, tasty, fun, easy to handle and served in small, palatable doses. They’re pretty much the antithesis of civil procedure from what I can tell But, civil procedure probably has a better payoff in the end. 😉

6 responses to “Cupcakes

  1. I am impressed that you have sprinkle technique. I just kinda dump ’em on and hope for the best. Which explains why you get tons of compliments and I don’t 🙂 Oh, and thank god cupcakes are nothing like civ pro. I hated civ pro.

    • @LawyerLovesLunch – no kidding – I’m not even in law school and I hate it just from reading three pages in my husband’s textbook. Yech.
      @NewTeacherWife – I can’t even take credit for that technique though. I must admit my sister told me. 😉

  2. I too do the sprinkles in the bowls and dunk the cupcakes. It’s amazing how easy it is. Also, cookie dough inside the cupcake? Genius.

    I’ll give you my address and you can just mail me some instead of me having to go through all the work of baking. Okay? Awesome.

  3. Thanks for reading my blog! Glad you enjoyed my decade in review! 🙂

  4. that sounds perfectly divine! I’ve been working with cookie dough, creating and finding new and fun recipes…

  5. OH MY GOSH!

    First, the dunking cupcakes in sprinkles is genius!

    Second, the payoff for cupcakes is WAY better than the payoff for taking Civ Pro. Two years later, I probably couldn’t explain the Erie doctrine to you, but I definitely still remember some of the great cupcakes I’ve had.

Leave a Reply

