Day 1 with the Trainer

Oh. My. Freaking. Goodness.

I am so fatigued. Here’s what happened.

A few weeks ago, my friends from work and I bought a Groupon together for 24 personal training sessions. It was a great deal and worked out to be less than two dollars each per session. And today, we went to our first session.

I’m a regular exerciser and have been for a couple of years. In high school, I was an all-state athlete, then I slacked off in college and have really gotten back into exercising frequently since Ducks and I have been married. So, I thought, this workout group should be a piece of cake; or at least I should be in much better shape than the others in the group.

I’m sorry to say that after about three minutes, all three of us were an indistinguishable puddle of sweat and exercise bleh-ness, so the extra workouts that I had on K and H didn’t do a whole lot of good in setting me apart from the crowd.

How can exercise so hard? And, how do I apparently have zero percent conditioning after diligently working out and flattering myself that I was in decent shape?

Somebody commiserate with me. Please. 😉

Maybe I’m exaggerating just a little, but not much. I am extremely tired and sore. And I dislike squats tremendously. Lunges were not as bad as I remembered; they were actually kind of fun. Planks are the worst activity ever invented. To look on the bright side, I have incentive to work out extra hard between now and our next Monday session.

And, I’m really proud of both H and K for working out so hard, especially since K just had a baby two months ago!

PS Thanks for all the great comments on sopapilla cheesecake. It really is delicious. I will post the recipe tomorrow!

5 responses to “Day 1 with the Trainer

  1. Planks were invented by the devil. And people who have super human strength and metabolism. It’s evil.

  2. Don’t feel bad at all! I just did Pilates today after not doing it for a year or so. I used to do it everyday, and now I think my abs have degenerated into butter or something, because it was HARD today. I was just wondering the same thing, how I can work out and run and do yoga and still find Pilates difficult. But it’s always hard to try something new.

  3. I signed up for 6 months of personal training before my wedding. Lordy was I in for a world of pain!! Up and downs…those were the worst. My hubby saw me working out with my trainer one day and was like “OMG…she is killing you down there.” Um, duh.

    Good luck with your training. I’m jealous of your in-shapeness. I’ve lost any sort of muscle tone I had over the last year. Now, I’m just a blob again. Sucks.

    • @ohmypuddin, Jamie – thanks for the encouragement – I’m still sore today!

      @natalie – I am nowhere near in shape, but hopefully this training will help me to also become less blob-like. 😉

  4. Level 2 of the 30 day shred was alllll planks. I wanted to die. I almost did die, I think. The ab/arm/glutes triad of death is just not fun. But you can do it!!! Plus you will have all these great exercises for the future that you can do on your own. I think that’s always the best part of doing a new program 🙂

Leave a Reply

