Sopapilla Cheesecake

 

1) The history of how I came to know about it.

2) The fact that I am not a good cook.

3) That it is super, super delicious and addicting.

How I Met Sopapilla Cheesecake

A few years ago, I had a friend named Jenn. I only knew her from work because we were in the same industry and we’d see each other at golf tournaments, galas, etc. Anyway, one thing that I loved about Jenn was her willingness to share recipes and the fact that — inevitably — her recipes began with the phrase, “You take a can of crescent rolls…” I’m serious. I never knew you could make anything out of crescent rolls except, well, crescent rolls, but she had a seemingly endless litany of recipes that used crescent rolls as a base.

I am not a Good Cook

I would never qualify for a dinner club, or anything of that nature, unless it was a club that featured pasta, mashed potatoes or salad as its cornerstone (I am quite good at those foods). Because I am not a good cook, I am not necessarily qualified to provide delicious recipes with step-by-step photo instructions. But, this recipe is so easy that there’s really no messing it up. So, no judging – especially all you foodie geniuses out there.

Okay, with no further adieu, here’s the recipe:

You take a can of crescent rolls….

Ha, just kidding. Really, here it is:

  • – 2 cans crescent roll dough
  • – 3 8-ounce packages of cream cheese (no one ever said this was healthy. I mean, really, it has the word “sopapilla” and the word “cheesecake” in it.)
  • – 1 tsp. vanilla
  • – 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • – 1 stick butter (1/2 cup) (Our friend, butter, was not available for this photo as he was chillin’ in the fridge. Actually, I just forgot to get him out.)
  • – an additional 1/2 cup sugar
  • – Cinnamon to taste – I put a little less than a tablespoon

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 x 13″ pan with non-stick spray. Open one can of crescent rolls and press it into the bottom of the pan. Cream the cream cheese, the vanilla and the 1 1/2 cups sugar together with your handy-dandy blender. Then, spread it over the crescent rolls. Place a second layer of crescent rolls over the top of the cream cheese.

Mix the remaining sugar and cinnamon together and pour it over the cream cheese. Then, melt the butter and drizzle it over the whole thing. Spread it around so that it’s all even and delicious-looking.

Bake the cheesecake for 35 minutes or until it looks very toasty and delightful. Then, cut it into squares and try to refrain from eating more than about 15 of them. After all, sharing is nice. An important note: please do not try to cut it up and plate it before it cools so you can post a pretty plate picture for your blog friends. The filling will not be firm yet and it will be hard to scoop. But it will still taste good.

The picture does not do it justice, but trust me, it’s good. Hope that you all make these and enjoy them! I know that everyone at my office would like y’all a great deal, because they’ll be benefitting from your recipe inquisitiveness. Or, maybe  I should send some with Ducks to school so he can lure in new friends (nope – I bet it would never make it all the way from our house to campus).

9 responses to “Sopapilla Cheesecake

  1. I send Mr. A with snacks to school so he can make friends.

    And this looks delicious and I will make it right after I make some derby pie.

    Yes, I’m trying to fatten up my husband so I can feel less guilty. HA!

  2. I have had this before and it is amazing! 😉

  3. Aaaand I just added all those items to my grocery list! That looks delicious! And so easy!

  4. Wow, that sounds and looks amazing!! I was hoping you’d post the recipe because I want to make that soon…YUM!

    I have big plans to bring baked goods to class. I love sharing good food…and getting new friends in the process!

  5. Making this tomorrow!

    p.s. Love how this post is about sopapilla cheesecake and the last post is about exercising with a personal trainer.

    • @Domestic Novice – I know, right? I have to go to the trainer so that I CAN make sopapilla cheesecake! Actually, I gave most of it away to Ducks’ law school friends and my co-workers. 🙂

  6. oh wow. that looks amazing.

  7. I don’t even like cheesecake, but that looks delicious! I can’t believe it has crescent rolls in it. I’m super tempted to make this, but I know I would eat it all myself! Wouldn’t that be terrible (kind of?)
    🙂

Leave a Reply

