Your Recipes, Please!

Okay, I’ve been a  bad blogger this week. Things haven’t even really been extremely hectic; I just haven’t been good about writing. I have decided that I need a personal planner (thoughts inspired by Emma at Legally Lovely’s post today), because twice this week I’ve forgotten events that I needed to attend and figured it out at the last minute (workout group and JL meeting).

But anyway, the reason I’m writing this short post is this: I need some suggestions. We’re planning on having some friends over to watch college football on Saturday. I’ve already been working on house straightening (who painted a bathroom and put together a shelf last night? Meeee!), but I need food ideas for this get-together.

I’m assuming it will be mostly guys from Ducks’ section that will be over and a couple of our college friend. It’s an afternoon game, so we don’t have to make a big meal, but I want to have plenty of snacks and beverages on hand. And, I’d like to make most of the food tonight if possible because tomorrow I’m going with my friend H to look for her WEDDING DRESS (did I mention that I’m a bridesmaid?! I feel so honored because I’ve only known her for about a year, but we’ve become good friends).

Anyway, so H, her MoH (K from work), her sister, L (from work) and I are going on a dress scouting expedition, as well as celebrating H’s birthday. Then, I’m rushing home for this, the most important football game of the year, the game that could be a statement game about our improved team and the game that ensure our trip to a bowl game this year (yes, I know it’s only the third week of the season, but as I’m trying to impress upon you all, this game means a lot.

So, back to topic: I need ideas for food for the party. I’ve asked my friend Christi to bring over some sweet and sour meatballs that she makes, which are SO good, but beyond that, I’ve got nothing. I want to impress the law school friends, whom I’ll be meeting for the first time, and I want to not be super-stressed about whether things are ready to go. Plus, this will apparently be only the first of many such events as Ducks has agreed that our house can be a hosting place for the [insert alma mater name here] Bar Association social events.

 Recipes, suggestions, drink ideas? I’m all ears.

And, if you happen to be in town, stop by! 🙂

5 responses to “Your Recipes, Please!

  1. If you have a crockpot, I have a SUPER yummy and SUPER easy cheese dip recipe.
    1lb ground sausage (like, in the tubes)
    Pack of velveeta cheese
    1 can of Rotel
    milk (as needed)

    Brown the sausage, put in the crock pot.
    Cut Velveeta into chunks and put in crock pot
    Pour in rotel
    Put on high until everything melts
    As it’s melting, if it looks too thick, add a little milk and mix

    It’s so easy but I have gotten so many compliments on it.
    It also keeps and reheats really well, so you could make tonight refrigerate and turn crock pot on tomorrow with enough time for it to heat.

  2. easiest, tastiest, big hit of a recipe… and remember I said it was easy!

    FF block of cream cheese
    bottle of raspberry chipotle sauce
    low fat, or fat free wheat thins…

    pour sauce over cream cheese, serve with crackers…

    this is the biggest hit at any party I go to, and it will bring the heat, while being refreshing, too! Peach is a nice alternative to the raspberry… HEB carries all the goods 🙂

    Have fun!!!

  3. I’m assuming you want easy appetizer-y options, right? I usually make a guacamole http://ohmypuddin.wordpress.com/2009/05/27/holy-guacamole/ and a dessert. Here’s the easiest, yummiest brownie recipe ever:
    2 boxed brownie mixes
    3 large Symphony Hershey bars (the blue label, the kind with toffee and nuts)
    1 9×13 glass casserole dish

    Mix both brownie mixes separately. Pour one brownie mix into the greased pan. Lay each chocolate bar flat, side by side, on top of the brownie mix. Pour the second brownie mix on top of the chocolate bars. Bake for 40 minutes at 375.

    If you want easy drinks, maybe mix a big batch of sangria so everyone can serve themselves?

    Other easy appetizers: chicken fingers (you can make these yourself w/chicken, mayo and crushed crackers), roasted potato “fries,” all kinds of dips, popcorn with fun things sprinkled on them, hummus, stuffed mushrooms. Most of this stuff can be made ahead of time.

    Also, things you can buy and serve as appetizers: ravioli, olives, anything on a cracker, waffle fries, sushi. Central Market is awesome for this kind of stuff!

  4. A sure fire part of your mix could be an easy anti pasto platter – smoked meats, roasted peppers, artichokes, and olives. Pair that with bread, crackers, and tapenades or other savory dips! You saw my dumpling recipe – that is labor intensive but I think any type of small dough wrapped goodness (you can make ahead or store buy) would be good.
    Otherwise how about chicken fingers (easier to clean) or wrap almost anything in phyllo or puffed pastry to make a great puff!

    Hmm I’m not good with appetizer recipes but I’ll keep thinking for you!

  5. Pingback: A Little Help from my Friends « Legally Married

Leave a Reply

