A Bundle of Random and a Proposition

This was a blah weekend. I’m going to chalk it up to a little rain, a horrible week in football (for both collegiate and my fantasy team) and just some bad mood hormones.

And, my husband studied at home Sunday. It’s nice to have him at home all day, but I can tell it was a sacrifice for him. He really needs the structure of the library to study, so I think next Sunday will find him back on campus instead of at home. It also made it a bit more stressful. because I was trying to be quiet but still get all my Sunday work done — cleaning up, laundry, dishes, etc. — while making a minimum amount of noise. Not really possible, so I think that just fueled my melancholy, because every clink of a plate felt like a huge deal. That’s way too much stress — to try to be quiet, be supportive and be a super-tidy superwife all at the same time. So, I’ll miss seeing him on Sundays but I think that this new method may be the best. Thoughts?

Also, thank you for all the recipes! I ended up making queso (thanks, NTNW!), a veggie tray (including red bell pepper slices – yum!), mini pigs in a blanket and brownies (note to ohmypuddin – I didn’t make the Symphony bar brownies Saturday, but have made them before to rave reviews – they are amazing!). I’ll keep using y’all’s recipes each week as we keep watching games. 🙂

I’m having a sort of a thought lately. Probably a bad one – what do you think? Since we’ve moved into our house, I find myself doing a lot more chores. After all, I guess it takes more effort to clean a two-story house than an 800 square foot apartment. I’ve been wondering – how dirty do you think my house might get if I were to “take off” from cleaning for an entire week? Obviously, I wouldn’t leave plates of rotting food out, etc. My husband thinks I’m putting too much stress on myself by fussing about extra chores at this house that I didn’t do on a regular basis at the apartment, in addition to the whole painting/decorating thing — and I’d (kind of evilly) also like to see how much housework gets done if I’m not the one doing it.

What do you think? Would not cleaning (or not cleaning as thoroughly) make life less or more stressful? I don’t know that this activity will happen anytime soon, because during football and basketball season, we tend to have company over at least once a week and I don’t want to shame myself with my slovenliness. But, have you ever tried it? Or would you recommend it?

5 responses to “A Bundle of Random and a Proposition

  1. It’s very hard to relax at home when someone is studying. You need a weekend too, so if Ducks studies at the library (where he’ll probably get more done anyway) then you’ll get a day to yourself too.

    On to the cleaning…whoa girl, you clean every weekend? Take a break fo sho! We do an every other kinda thing where one weekend it’s a full cleaning and then the next is light. I’ll sweep and vaccum, but maybe not scrub the shower and mop. We dust and sweep a lot, but that’s because with our dark furniture and the pug, it would get out of control if we didn’t. And every week I drop hints about getting a maid. Someday…someday…

  2. I’m glad you liked the dip. It’s so easy but I love it. Now I want some….

    I say definitely take a break with the full out cleaning. We do a quick vacuum and dust once a week, and obviously dishes as they come, but the thorough cleaning is about every other. Whether it stresses you out or not depends on you. My husband is super neat, so mess drives him nuts. I’m a little more messy, so what bugs him, I don’t even see what the problem is.

    Enjoy football season and give yourself a break.

  3. Does the noise bug him that much?! I study better at home lately. I don’t know. Sometimes when he’s doing something consistently noisy (like watching TV) it bugs me but in general I don’t really care. Sometimes it makes me jar awake, haha. Maybe just separate rooms?

    • @jamie – Yeah, I need to encourage him to study upstairs, so I can do chores and watch TV downstairs. Maybe we’ll try that out this Sunday.

      @natalie, NTNW – okay, you convinced me! no chores this weekend. 🙂

  4. Take a break, girlfriend! You deserve it! Make sure you enjoy your weekend too! One weekend off (even every other weekend off) won’t kill you. Just take a little extra time during the week to tidy things up and you won’t even need to do much!

Leave a Reply

