Ten Days: Day Three

Day Three: Eight things you couldn’t live without.

1) College basketball. Yeah, I may have mentioned this a few times before. But, March Madness is my very favorite thing in my entire calendar year. And I love my college team. A lot. I may have mentioned that also.

2) My iPhone. I never would have thought I was the kind of girl who would LOVE an iPhone. I’m not much of a gadget girl, even though I do love social media. But I have my iPhone on hand pretty much any time of the day or night.

3) Contact lenses. When I had the horrific eye infection this past year, I realized exactly how much I love wearing contacts. Sometimes when I can’t wear my contacts, I wonder how I would have survived if I lived on the prairie or something. I’d literally have to be led around by the hand; I’d be completely blind. So, yes, I salute you, Mr. (or Ms.) Contact Lens Inventor.

4) Books on tape. I have to echo Sara’s post on this one. I love books on tape. I play them from my iPhone while I’m working on my house (painting walls and such). I play them on my drive to work. Yes, I’m a fan.

5) Books, period. I would estimate that I’ve read 8,000 to 10,000 books in my life. I’m not kidding when I say that. There are books like Anne of Green Gables and Jane Austen’s Emma that I’ve read at least 20 times each, so that’s where the variance comes in. In first grade alone, I read 326 books (nerd alert: I have a trophy for it), so I think my calculation is pretty reasonable

6) Ice cream. I could eat ice cream every day. Probably more than once a day. We have a running joke in our house that Ducks eats all the ice cream because he probably eats about one spoonful from each carton we buy. Which is why we don’t buy it very often. BTW, favorite flavor: cookies and cream. Just yum.

7) My sisters. No explanation needed. They’re the funniest, brightest, most beautiful girls in the world. I love them.

8 ) My husband. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. I have the best husband in the world. He’s a man who didn’t even think he was good-looking until I told him over and over, even though the first thing most girls say, in cooing voices, after they meet him is, “Oh, your husband is SO handsome! You’re so lucky.”

I’m glad I wrote this post early, because already today I’ve been terrorized by a dream lizard, Chelsea Handler and a real-life beetle. I never would have made it through a post otherwise. Eesh.

(Disclaimer: It’s not Chelsea’s fault, really. She can’t help it that she’s hilarious and that my sister idolizes her. I just can’t believe I’m not going to be able to get a book signed for Jo’s birthday. After all, she and Chelsea have a lot in common. I’m sure Chelsea has also gotten wasted, picked up from the river by the police and taken to the hospital. Oh, and they also both like vodka.)

5 responses to “Ten Days: Day Three

  1. BOOKS ON TAPE! Omg I love them. They make my commute so much faster. Right now, I’m mostly listening to law school supplements (blleeerrrggghhh) but I really love picking out audiobooks for road trips. For Thanksgiving I have the new Jon Stewart book just waiting to be listened to 🙂

    Dude I too have trophies from various elementary school contests. I was also the QUEEN of the free personal pizza hut pizza for this reason. Thank God I have a fast metabolism or I would be one fat chick.

    Anyway, we should have a nerd-off.

  2. I love March too, but because it’s my birthday month. Basketball is a foreign concept in my part of the country, so I just don’t get it.

    And Jamie and I might have been the sole reason Pizza Hut had book/pizza program because I was ALWAYS reading and such.

  3. I am with you 100% on numbers 5-8! My life would NOT be complete without books, cookies ‘in cream ice cream, my sisters, and my husband!

    • @ Nat – You know that your sister and my sister have the same name? Which is very interesting because you and I also share a first name. 😉

      @NTNW – Happy early birthday – I’ll have to put you on my calendar! 🙂

      @Jamie – Nerd-off – you’re on. Not only can I still, at the age of 26, sing Veggie Tales lyrics, I was also the very first principal of the day when the concept was introduced in our intermediate school. It was kind of a rip-off of Accelerated Reader points in my opinion. :-/

  4. Ice cream!! How did I ever forget this one?! Great list! I wish I had a sister!

Leave a Reply

