Ten Days: Day Five

Day Five: Six things you wish you could change or you wish you’d never done.

Okay, y’all, I got a little sad writing this one. And none of my regrets are really big things. But still….

1) I wish I had taken better advantage of my time in college, that I would have wrung every single memory and opportunity from those 3 ½ years. I loved college, but I wish I’d have lived a little more. It would have helped if I had realized the advantages of alcohol a little earlier in life, or if my dad hadn’t rushed me into taking extra classes to graduate early or if I’d been like my sister and not worked as hard in school and demanded things that I wanted so that my parents would have given me a little more money. But, I met a marvelous man and made some lifelong friends, so there’s not too much to complain about there.

2) I wish I had known that you don’t have to jump right into a career. We have our whole lives to work and don’t have to be so eager to leap right into it. I wish I’d saved some money and had some adventures, or even gone to grad school, instead of being so eager to get started in the working world. It’s not that great. 😉

3) I wish I had taken time to study abroad. Even if I’d have to take out a loan or something like that, it would have been an unforgettable experience. My best friend spent a semester in the Netherlands, and we would have had so much fun if we’d been there together. I’m going to make sure that my children have the option to do this one day. If any of you have great study abroad stories, I want to hear them and live vicariously through you.

4) I wish one of my roommates hadn’t stolen the necklace my parents gave me for high school graduation. It was beautiful and it meant a lot to me. I still start tearing up when I think about it. It couldn’t have meant anything to her; she probably sold it for far less than it was worth. But it was really special to me and I still think about it often and wish I could turn back time to get it back.

5) I wish I hadn’t gone alone to look for my wedding dress. At the time, I lived near no one. My parents and sisters were far away. I had just moved to a new city and didn’t have any friends there yet. I had a boss from hades, no available vacation time, and the boss wouldn’t let me work for comp time, so I went on weekdays to try on dresses at lunch and right after work. When I went with my friend H to look at dresses recently for her upcoming wedding, I got teary-eyed, not just because she was so pretty but because I was so sad that I missed the entire experience with people I loved.

6) I wish I hadn’t realized about five minutes ago that I’ve missed three days of birth control pills in a row. Eeeeeek!

9 responses to “Ten Days: Day Five

  1. And that is why I love Nuvaring! 😉

    Not to make you feel worse, but I studied abroad in Italy during my junior year of college. It changed my life and not a day goes by that I don’t think about those four months abroad. You should definitely push your kids to do it someday. Life goes by so quick, so it’s nice to take a break and really see the world once in a while.

    It’s never too late to go to grad school or do something you love. I waited almost ten years to go back, but I’m glad I did…or am.

  2. Agree so strongly with 1 and 3! I loved my college experience and I looove my school. But boy did I blow through it like a crazy person. Thankfully I got some great friends (and one great man… earlier some really shitty ones… but whatever) and I got what I needed BUT I didn’t slow down and enjoy too much. I just wanted to get through the units. Would have been cool to chill in Paris or not have a semester with 2 on campus jobs. Oh well, it all works out in the end 🙂

  3. This must have been a hard post to write! But, I love how you are able to take all of your regrets and put a positive spin on things.

    I did get to study abroad in college- I went to Spain. However, I really regretted going to Spain instead of Ecuador, as had always been my dream. In the end, I kind of just chickened out and went with the more structured option: Europe. I had a great time in Spain though. Hopefully I will get to go to Ecuador someday…

    I had to laugh at your last regret, how is it fair that women have to be the ones to always keep on top of these things! I know the pill would be a terrible option for me, luckily there are other things out there that require less daily responsibility!

  4. I too wish I could have studied abroad. Now, a bunch of my husband’s law school buddies are going to do a summer in Ireland for credit, and I wish he could go. Yes, I’d be jealous, but I wouldn’t want him to miss out on an amazing opportunity.

    Also, wish I would have enjoyed college more. If I would have worked the slightest bit harder my freshman year, I probably would have been able to instead of playing catch up the rest of my time. But I met my husband, so it wasn’t all bad.

    I laughed out loud at number 6. I’ve done that and then I freak out until I know I’m in the clear. haha

  5. Totally agree with the whole jumping into a career thing. I took a year off after graduating college before law school and it was a great idea. I think it made me focus on what I really wanted to do and take law school more seriously than I would have directly out of undergrad. And I studied abroad…twice! Once in undergrad (London) and again in law school (Madrid and Brussels). Best summers of my life! Definitely worth paying off student loans for the next 80 years!

  6. I think everyone wishes they’d spent more time enjoying college and less time worrying about classes. Unless you’re one of those who enjoyed the heck out of college for, like, ten years and never graduated or something.

    I’d always regretted not doing a semester abroad while in undergrad, so I decided to go to grad school for a few years before law school (you know, to round out that school debt into the six figures fo sho) and spent a semester in South Korea. I’m so glad I did.

  7. ruh roh! better get back on a pill schedule! 😉

  8. Pingback: day six: five vips | Domestic Novice, Esq.

Leave a Reply

