Ten Days: Day Nine

Day Nine: Two words that describe your life right now.

Content. I’m really happy and pleased with my life right now. We have the little stresses and worries of school and money and relationship stuff. We have the little irritations of bills and annoying acquaintances and chores. But overall, we have a wonderful life, wonderful friends and a lot of things to be thankful for.

Waiting. Right now, I feel like having a husband in law school means that we’re waiting on a lot of things. We’re waiting on a vacation we want to take to Greece. We’re waiting for the bar exam. We’re waiting for a job in the legal field. We’re waiting to figure out which city we’ll be living in once Ducks finishes school. We’re waiting to start a family. We’re just waiting for many things to happen. Happily and contently waiting, but waiting still.

When I was re-reading this post (the downfall of drafting posts over the weekend), I realized that my life is pretty boring. Both my words have to do with just living with some peace, but not doing a whole lot to forge ahead in the world. But, they’re true. I’m happy with my life right now, but I don’t feel like I’m moving toward any kind of goals, personally or professionally.

What do you do in these kinds of situations? I can’t take on school right now because we can’t afford two students in the family. I’m already doing some volunteer work in the community. What can I do to create a little extra spark in my life? I don’t have any type of big projects or any prospect of a promotion at work for quite some time (I’ve already talked with my boss about it). While I love my job, knowing that I won’t be able to advance until some major changes happen within the organization means that no matter how hard I work, I’m just working for the sake of doing a good job and earning a paycheck, not for career development. 

So, what can I/should I do to bring a little more challenge and excitement into my life?

8 responses to “Ten Days: Day Nine

  1. I kinda like boring- I take comfort in consistency 🙂 But I can imagine you’re going a bit stir crazy. Have you considered meetup.com? They have a bunch of groups for people who are interested in lots of things. You could pick up a new hobby and make some new friends 🙂

  2. I know exactly how you feel. I was like that a few years ago when my life was good and content, but needed a little bit extra.

    I know you’re already very involved with volunteer stuff, but you could always take some classes for fun. Not anything too expensive, but a lot of the community colleges have continued education classes. I’ve taken a few over the years and it’s a great way to meet people. Also, I know you love to cook so you could take a few cooking classes. They can get expensive, but occasionaly I’ll see cheap and/or free ones. Check your local Sur La Table, Williams Sonoma, Central Market, etc. In Dallas we have a Viking Cooking School and I’ve taken some fun workshops there.

    Are you in a book club? Those can be a fun excuse to get together with friends. Also, is there a young professionals organization in your area? We have one through our Regional Chamber. It has been an awesome way for me to meet other professional people my age and stay on top of what is happening in Dallas. There is always an educational luncheon or happy hour going on.

  3. I am not sure where you live but you can try http://www.meetup.com to see if there are any groups in your area that like the same hobbies/topics/games that you do. There are even just dinner groups, that try out new places in the area. Along with hiking groups, too. It is pretty cheap, gets you to meet new people and go places you might not have otherwise.

  4. Hmm. I went through this when I was waiting for law school to start. I mostly tried to improve on skills that I wanted to have- cooking was a big one, so was writing cover letters. I didn’t do “school” per se, but I did a lot of personal enrichment. I went through and scheduled it in my planner just like everything else in life. That’s the only way for me to get things done.

  5. For my “extra” stuff, I love taking classes. I’m currently taking a Mini Med School class at a local hospital. I’ve taken art classes, cooking classes, photograhy classes. I just love learning! I also volunteer at a local children’s center. I read to the kids and help them with schoolwork, etc. It’s really rewarding and makes me feel like I accomplished something every day.

  6. I felt this way before starting medical school… and I did try taking some classes, but one particular class (called dragon-boating 101… only in Portland) was a COMPLETE flop. I never went back after the first meeting. However, it did keep me entertained for the weekend and made for a good story!

    Let me know if you find a good book club. I have been looking for one myself. Maybe we should just start one (as long as there’s wine and cheese involved) !

  7. I love Natalie’s idea of a class at the community college or cooking classes. I would love to take a photography class or something. And an IRL book club would be great as well.

    Or you could buy a dog. Or maybe I’m just projecting my wishes and desires onto you. hahaha

    You will find what will bring you happiness and some excitement.

Leave a Reply

