Doing Work

No, not real work. Obviously. Personal trainer/gym work. As promised to my pal Melissa @ Duoly Noted, here’s the workout we did at the trainer last night. I am proud to say that even though I was dragging at the end, I did successfully complete every single step of the workout.

Step 1: Warm Up

  • 30 seconds jumping jacks
  • 30 seconds front straddle hops (video here in case you are not familiar with this term)
  • 30 seconds squats
  • 30 seconds push ups
  • 30 seconds left side lunge stretch (video)
  • 30 seconds right side lunge stretch

Repeat all.

Legally Married commentary: None really. Except that our usual trainer was doing a one-on-one personal training session today so we had the male trainer. She is a lot more encouraging, whereas he did a lot more correcting/shouting.

Step 2: Planks (yes, the workout demon of planks)

  • 30 seconds left side plank. Without resting, switch to
  • 30 seconds front plank. Without resting, switch to
  • 30 seconds right side plank. Without resting, switch to
  • 30 seconds swivel crunch. I don’t know exactly how to describe this, but basically — lay flat, lift your back and feet from the ground so that you are balancing only on your butt. Swivel at waist, trying to hit ground with hands on each side.

Repeat all three times through without rest.

Legally Married commentary: These are the devil. I can’t do all of it consecutively without rest, so the instructions above are what the trainer says to do, not what I am actually capable of. Also, apparently from the yelling, it’s very important for your heels to be directly on top of one another.

Step 3: Alternating push ups and jump roping

  • Do 20 full push ups. Touch your chest to the ground and lift your hands from the ground. Then raise yourself. That’s one. Repeat 20 times.
  • Successfully jump rope 40 times.

Repeat 5 times through.

Legally Married commentary: These push-ups were extremely difficult. They took me a long time. L, who dominates as regular man-style push ups, wasn’t able to do them well either. The jump roping was AWESOME though. I actually got a compliment from the trainer on my jump rope skills. Which is kind of miraculous when you consider how long it took me to earn the 75-in-a-row sticker in first grade PE. I think it must be because I do the stationery bike a lot, so my calf muscles are fierce. 😉

Step 4: Alternating sprints/backpedalling

  • Sprint 100 yards. When you reach the end of the sprint, immediately begin to
  • Backpedal 100 yards. (which is just a fancy word for run backwards)

Repeat 5 times through.

Legally Married commentary: Not much. I was very schadenfreude -ish during the sprints because I noticed that the chick in the triathlon t-shirt was struggling. So, that made me feel better about myself.  And, I end up getting mad at myself during these workouts because I do exercise frequently and I was a really good athlete in high school, so I feel like I should do better than I am.  But, the trainer did tell me that he liked me because I worked hard. Which, I take to mean that he noticed I was very sweaty and red-faced and thought a compliment might keep me from passing out.

And, that’s the whole workout.

I’d be interested to hear how you guys work out, if you want to share. Also, I made Ducks do some planks last night. He’s disgustingly good at them. And at the swivel thing. Typical.

PS Don’t forget to click to Holy Turf and get some football knowledge. The contest runs through until Nov. 3 – so stay click-y, my friends. 🙂 And I’ll post the contest tonight, once that I go shopping for a prize today at lunch!

8 responses to “Doing Work

  1. Oh goodness, are you sore? I would probably be struggling to walk. I just started pilates reformer classes and all of the ab and leg work is intense! I am hoping for the best legs ever though — motivation!

    • Natalie – I’m not as sore as I was the first time I went. After the first class, I literally struggled to walk or to climb the stairs in my house. Today, I’ve got a little stiffness in my abs, shoulders and lower back. But it will be worth it in the long run, I’m sure. Good for you for getting back into pilates!! 🙂

  2. Ummm…you’re a badass, at least compared to me. And strangely, i think I would do better with a male trainer. Girls intimidate me, especially buff girls. haha.

    I am doing the 30 day shred from Jillian Michaels. It kicks my butt and I haven’t moved past stage 1. hahaha

    • @E – Good work with the shred. I tried her videos last year and gave up quickly. The thing with the trainer (for me, as I’m not very self-motivated) is that you can’t give up because you’re already there instead of at home. I thought I would be really intimidated by CC (the girl trainer) also because she’s like super-buff with big shoulders and huge calf muscles. But she turned out to be pretty cool.

  3. This sounds hellacious and awesome at the same time. I’m definitely going to try this!

    • Good – I think you’ll like it. Like being a relative term. 😉
      I will tell you that I’m nowhere near as sore as I was expecting to be. Let me know how it goes, and if you like it, I’ll post the outlines after upcoming workouts too.

  4. The planks remind me of the hell that is Jillian Michaels’ 30 day shred level 2. Don’t you feel like your whole body is in fire or is that just me?

    But you must be dropping SO much weight. Sounds like a great program!!

  5. oh my gosh that sounds like an awesome workout. I am really boring and usually just do cardio on the elliptical when I go to the gym, occasionally adding in some nautilis (sp?) weight machines, and I do 5 minutes of abs and finve minutes of stretching for cool down. Sometimes I’ll swim for 30 min as a work out, and once a week I play ultimate frisbee with my med student team… I want to try this workout though! It sounds good for those ADHD days when I can’t stand the idea of doing straight cardio for 30 min.

Leave a Reply

