Fall Fun Giveaway

So, today, L, H and I went on a shopping trip at lunch. Why?

Well, first of all, to buy my sister Beth a birthday card that says “Party Animal” and has a gerbil or something (I’m not strong on classifying rodentia) in a party hat.

But second of all, to buy some fun stuff for YOU!

Inspired by my friend New Teacher, New Wife, I’ve decided to host my first giveaway. The contest will run from now until Sunday night at midnight.

Since you’ve all been talking about fall and pumpkins and what-not, I decided to select a few gifts with a fall color scheme. And, since I’ve heard most of your ideas about what you love about fall during the week of what Jamie called fallidays postings, I’ve decided to be extremely practical and ask for some information I want — which is,

”What book should we select for our inaugural book club meeting?”

So, to enter, post a response in the blog comments. It doesn’t have to be long and complex (but it can be). It can be as simple as, “Emma is my all-time favorite book,” or “My book club just finished The Other Boleyn Girl  and loved it.” Or, you can link to a review of a book you’ve completed on your own blog. Kate and I thank you in advance. 😉  I will randomly select a winner by making Ducks draw one of your names from a hat. 🙂

What will you win?

A fun flower headband, because I’m extremely headband-obsessed. And I almost kept this for myself (that’s me wearing it and trying to convince myself to give it to you all). As a side note, my hair looks really light in this picture. It’s much darker in person. Weird.

A fall tones cardholder – I’ve also been wanting one of these for myself for a while because I usually use my Vera pouch. (Confession: Okay, so I actually bought two of these card holders, so I guess I don’t ACTUALLY still want one because I was greeeeedy and got one for myself.)

Fall-ish earrings. Nothing particularly special,  just something fun to add to your wardrobe! I’m the kind of girl who wears the same studs (the ones Ducks gave me for Christmas four years ago), almost everyday, but every once in a while, I like to switch it up with something a little more fun.

I’m anxious to hear your suggestions so that we can get our book club up-and-running. And, most of all, I just wanted to thank you guys for being great readers adn friends. Hope you like the giveaway items! 🙂

PS And, in addition, I’ll give a bonus entry for everyone who clicks over to Holy Turf (for the ticket contest) and leaves me a comment saying that you’ve clicked — the comments need to be included on this blog post, so keep clicking and posting! 🙂

14 responses to “Fall Fun Giveaway

  1. My first time to comment – you got me with the enticement of sharing about books! 🙂
    Ok, this is hard because as you know I am in a book club so we’ve read a lot of books. A couple come to mind we’ve read recently … The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot http://rebeccaskloot.com/the-immortal-life/, The Host by Stephenie Meyer, Love Walked In by Marisa De Los Santos http://www.amazon.com/Love-Walked-Marisa-los-Santos/dp/0525949178, or the Stieg Larsson series (the first being The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo).
    Oh, and for the record – I clicked thru 20 times to Holy Turf! 😉

    • Oh wow, so cool that you mentioned “the immortal life” ! I just went to a book talk and signing by the author at my medical school this past week. It was a great talk, and really made me want to read the book!

  2. Love these items!!! Super cute.

    I would suggest the Hunger Games series because they freaking rock. Also, I liked it because it wasn’t the typical “love story” book. I love me a good love story, but sometimes I need a break.

    If you want a books that’s got a little controversy to it but still very very good, try “19 Minutes” by Jodi Picoult. One of my favorites.

    And is this a real life book club or blog book club? If it’s the latter, can I join? hah

    • E – it’s a real-life book club, but since it’s being started by me and Kate (from M.D. Like Me), I see no reason why you couldn’t join in also. 🙂 Let’s email this week and figure out how to do the online part of the club. 🙂

  3. I click over a bunch of times everyday mostly so you can win nad have a fun blogging story.

    Good luck!

  4. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! What an AWESOME giveaway! I second the Jodi Picoult mention. I have yet to read 19 Minutes, but I really want to. I just finished her new book, House Rules, and I think that would be a great selection. Her characters and situations are always fascinating to me. Good luck with the book club… I’d love to join one if I had the time!

  5. I second the Hunger Games books, and also recommend The Help, if you haven’t read it.

    Another one I just re-read for the 80 millionth time? Bridge to Terabitha. It’s a children’s book, but one of my very favorite stories.

  6. One of my most favorite books of all time, which you’ve probably already read is the Time Traveler’s Wife. Another Audrey Niffeneger book I read was Her Fearful Symmetry. It was weird and a bit disturbing, but would probably be a good book club book. If you’re looking for something YA and a little zombie-like, then check out The Forest of Hands and Teeth. There is a sequal too…

    Oh, and I’ve clicked a million times to the football site, so you better win those tickets!! 🙂

    • OOOhhh! I just got Time Traveler’s Wife from the library. Seen the movie and haven’t read the book. And I also wanted to read Her Fearful Symmetry. If you pick those, please let me know because they would be ones I haven’t read and I couple play along without knowing the ending already. haha

  7. I know I know, I am not actually entering the contest, even though that headband is sooo cute, but I do want to say YAY for book club! I have heard of The Help and wanted to read it, haven’t heard of the other ones. I’m excited. 🙂

    • Ha! You can still enter. Just because you’re in the book club doesn’t devoid you of prizes. And, I am very excited. Should we have a first get-together in early Dec maybe to select our books?

  8. I clicked over 5 times – I really want you to win! I’m not in the US so you don’t have to enter me, but yay for giveaways!

  9. Pingback: Holidays are Almost Here? « Legally Married

  10. Glad I’m not too late.

    I’ve been clicking for you on Holy Turf. Good luck.

    And while my friends are often split on memoirs as to if they enjoy them or hate them, check out Rick Bragg’s memoir “All Over But The Shoutin’.” He wrote the book about his mother, and it’s a beautiful story deep down about the sacrifices for family.

Leave a Reply

