No More Princesses

No more princesses.

When I first read this, I was surprised. Then, disgruntled. Then, after the Shabby Princess commiserated with me on Twitter, I decided I was MAD.

No more princesses?!

Disney has announced that they are not making any more princess movies. Why? Not because they’ve made a reasoned decision that it’s unhealthy for girls to watch these movies and project them onto their lives. Because they say boys don’t want to watch them. Girls are willing to watch gender-neutral movies, or even boy-oriented movies, but boys don’t want to see movies with “princess” in the title. So, it’s all about the money.

I think this is just a travesty. Think about all the princesses we grew up with. They inspired your imagination. They made you think about something that you knew you couldn’t be (unless you went to England and met Prince William, at which point he would absolutely fall in love with you– oh, what? I’m off-topic? And it’s not happening anymore, thanks to the lovely Kate Middleton? And Ducks? Sorry.) but something that was magical and that inspired your imagination.

Some people may think the loss of princesses is a good thing, because they are anti-feminist symbols of women who are helpless and who need a man to save them. While that may be true for some of the princesses (Snow White and Sleeping Beauty in particular – but, come on, they were asleep!), there are just as many princesses who went out and did things on their own:

– Ariel – Took control of her own destiny to find love

– Mulan – Defended her family and homeland, taking the burden from her aging father

– Belle – Sacrificed to save her father’s life, then found love along the way

Sure, they may have had help or adorable talking animal or candlestick sidekicks along the way, but they did things.

I don’t know if there are actually girls in the world who look up to Cinderella as a role model, but I’d much rather have my children (when I have any) admiring a Disney princess than a girl like Hannah Montana. I sometimes worry about my youngest sister because her career aspirations at this point in time are “to be a famous singer and dancer.” When I was that age, I wanted to be a pediatrician. That’s not what I grew up to be, but I had a goal besides hoping I’d be “discovered” while walking down the street. I think that kind of mentality is far more dangerous to a young girl than hoping one day you might meet a handsome, kind, loving prince who wants to marry you. Isn’t it better to look up to cartoon girls who are loving, kind and virtuous than to look up to the other Disney “princesses”?

Demi Lovato – from Camp Rock to Cutting  Rehab

Britney Spears – from Mickey Mouse Club

to miniskirts and Madonna makeout sessions

Lindsay Lohan – from Parent Trap to….well, I don’t even have the time or space to discuss everything that Lohan’s been into. 

What do you think? How do you feel about the end of the princess era? Is it a good thing, a sad thing or an irrelevant thing?

PS I have borrowed the photos used in this post from several different sources, but I have included links back to those sources on each photo.

10 responses to “No More Princesses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention No More Princesses | Legally Married -- Topsy.com

  2. I think it is totally sad too! I mean, they are princesses, they aren’t superheroes, but they are magical nonetheless. They promote happy relationships (not always healthy, but not abusive either) and dreaming of finding your own prince charming. No harm in that!

    • One of the articles I read about this said that the new craze for boy movies can be even more damaging to girls’ pysches, because they’ll learn that they’re not the focal point, that they’re always to be cast in the supporting role. I think any of these opinions (for or against the movies based on what they teach kids) are a little strong, but I agree with you. There’s no harm in a good story with a happy ending!

  3. I was super bummed to hear this. I feel like Disney is too concerned with making money (the princess films aren’t bringing in the $$$$). This shouldn’t surprise me in the LEAST, but it’s still sad. I fee like it’s what they’re all about.

    Now the Disneyland castles won’t be as magical.

    • That’s so true – especially because they’re always putting the older movies back “in the vault” or whatever. I bet some kids don’t even know who the princesses are in a few years.

  4. This SUCKS. I loved Belle. And she’s totally the reason that, as a little bookworm kid, I was confident enough to carry around a book all the time. Because I figured it would be cool because Belle did it.

    (It wasn’t but oh well).

  5. I had no idea that Disney was doing this, but I hate it! If I ever have a little girl, I feel like I could let her watch a princess movie, but also reinforce “strong, independent woman” values. I grew up on Disney movies, and I turned out okay! 🙂

    Crazy, crazy. I think it’s always nice to have a little bit of fantasy in life.

  6. UGH! You obviously know how mad this makes me. Granted, I am a girly girl and was always a princess for Halloween, but, I think that the classic princess Disney movies are just good movies to begin with. I mean, good, clean, happy movies. I mean, who didn’t run around belting out “Part of Your World” at the top of your lungs? What, only I did that? It’s the red hair. Damn you Ariel! ANYWAYS. My little sister is 11 and while I was growing out of princesses at that age, she’s all into grunge (yes, it’s 1992 again) and being famous, etc, etc. I’d much rather her stay in a little Disney dream land.

    I’ll have to post a pic of her from DisneyWorld last spring. She looks like she’s shooting death lasers out of her eyes. I on the other hand, am enamored with Cinderella. At age 25. YES.

    • Okay, I have to tell you that I think it’s really cool that you also have a sister who is much younger than you. I’m 26 also and my sister is 12.

      And, yes I’m very mad about the princesses….grr. Please do post the pic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

