Good News!

No, finals are not over. Although, for Ducks, they’re technically 60 percent over.

The good – no, make that GREAT news – is that Ducks got a job during Christmas break.

I wanted him to just take a break and relax, but he said he would go too stir-crazy sitting at home every day for a month. So, instead, he got a job working with his former employer. It’s super exciting because — to be completely honest — he’s going to make a lot of money. Our goal for this year has been to pay one-third of his tuition and all of his books out-of-pocket instead of getting loans for it (all the remainder, of course, is loans…sigh). And, with the time he’ll be working this month, we should be able to cover our portion of the spring’s tuition payment.

Hallelujah!

Now, I’ll have to be really sweet to him all month because he’ll be the breadwinner again. Sigh – I guess we can’t have everything. 😉

Hope you all had a great weekend!

8 responses to “Good News!

  1. Oh, I should make goals like that! I’m sure I’ll appreciate it more when I’m paying off the loans!

    Congrats on the job!

  2. Yay! That’s so exciting. And it will probably help him since he won’t be at home the whole time. I think Mr. A is dying to be able to sit at home and do nothing for a month. hahah. And that will be so great to help keep the loans down.

  3. This IS good news! When I think about my debt, I feel this crushing panic. I really try not to think about it. So having a job and your “portion” paid for must be a huge relief!

    Congrats to Ducks! (Also, congrats for being over halfway done with exams!)

  4. wow that’s great! way to go ducks!!

  5. In this economy (how many times has your husband heard that, I wonder?) it is a real coup to get a legal job. So congrats all around!

    Also, thanks for the good wishes for finals. I just submitted my final paper and am now free. Hurray! As a 3L I wanted to share a little bit of encouraging news. It really will get better. This year (this 1L, 1st semester especially) is the worst. It’s all so new and odd and weird and stressful. But it really does get tons better. So hang in there and good luck to the husband.

    The oft-repeated maxim about law school is true: 1st year they scare you to death, 2nd they work you to death, 3rd they bore you to death. Not sure if that is comforting but there you go. 🙂

  6. Whoot! That’s great and a great attitude from him. You’re very lucky. Congrats.

  7. You might enjoy this article Slate ran last week:

    “A Case of Supply v. Demand: Law schools are manufacturing more lawyers than America needs, and law students aren’t happy about it.”

    http://www.slate.com/id/2272621/

    There’s some super fun stuff about student debt in there.

  8. CONGRATS! That’s awesome. I have a ton of crap going on over break but none of it paid (failed to finish pro bono requirement for my scholarship this semester… fail… gonna fix that). He’s going to learn a lot I bet too. Yay!

Leave a Reply

