Apologies and Birthday Questions

Sorry – I’ve been a really bad blogger lately! Miss you all – this week has just been very busy. This weekend, I’ll try to commandeer the computer and write some interesting stuff for the upcoming week.

In other news, Ducks’ birthday is on Sunday. So, once again, we are faced with the conundrum of what to do when a birthday is the so near the gift giving holiday. My in-laws have already bought him tickets to several basketball games he wants to attend, so that’s off the list. I have bought him one gift that I know he wants, but then I get all confused as to, ” What should I save for Christmas?” “How much should I spend?” etc. All I know is that we’re going to one of our city’s most famous burger places, Chris Madrid’s, on Saturday. It’s been on Diners, Drive-ins and DivesΒ and if you ever come to visit, I will be happy to take you there. It will probably be your only meal for the day because the burger is so huge. Oh, and that, since my husband “doesn’t like cake” but does like ice cream cake, we’ll be having ice cream cake. Suggestions on where to get it (usually I do Coldstone)?

What do you all buy your significant others when their birthday fall near other gift-giving days?

Hope you guys are doing great on finals (or surviving as the significant other) or for those of you who are already done with school, hope you’re getting your holiday shopping done! πŸ˜‰

13 responses to “Apologies and Birthday Questions

  1. Happy early birthday to Ducks! Hmm could you do something lower cost for Christmas – photobook, something experiential like a special exhibit or tour?

    We had Carvel ice cream cake at our wedding. Cheesy and totally fun. Coldstone has awesome ice cream + real cake cakes. I haven’t met an ice cream cake I haven’t liked πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, it is birthday season!! Mine is Saturday and my husband’s is Tuesday. Usually I have no idea what to get him, especially with Christmas being two weeks away. It is nice that my birthday is first though. That way if his gifts to me suck, then I can judge what to give him. πŸ˜‰ Actually, this year he is getting a lot. I bought him a nice black wool coat, a scarf, and a couple of shirts. It’s more than I usually give, but he needs some new stuff. Oh, and I like to shop.

    Happy Birthday, Ducks!! You guys enjoy your dinner…and ice cream cake from Cold Stone sounds delish!!

    • Very nice! And that’s crazy that your birthdays are so close together! I should get my husband a new jacket, but considering the fact that he wore shorts to the Riverwalk last night, apparently he doesn’t place a high premium on being warm. πŸ˜‰

  3. COLDSTONE!!!! Looooooooove Coldstone, probably more so bc we don’t have one anywhere close to us. hahaha.

    • Where in the world do you live, girlie?! LOL – just kidding. I bet there is not a Coldstone for at least 100 miles from where I grew up! πŸ™‚ My brother-in-law used to work at one in high school, so that gave us an excuse to go there — I mean, to stop in and visit him. πŸ˜‰

  4. So we always do “events” for our birthdays because they are both in the same month as Christmas and not far from Thanksgiving. We went to a boat parade for my bday and a sushi dinner for his and a movie marathon at Imax (he has been asking for sushi FOREVER but it’s super expensive so we held off). I think if we did gifts it would be super overwhelming between gifts from others, Christmas, etc.

    Also signed up to get a bunch of free things from corporations – NFL, coldstone does free ice cream and of course free starbucks πŸ™‚

    happy birthday ducks!

  5. Speaking as a Christmas-day baby, I appreciate it a lot when people make a point to recognize my birthday separate from Christmas. Two-in-one gifts seem like a cop out, which is a bummer, but sometimes it’s ok. I hate when people wrap my birthday presents in Christmas paper. It’s lazy and depending on how the hormones are at that day, I sometimes see it as a reflection on their value of our relationship, but I know that’s not really true. I might make too much of this, but my parents spoiled me by working extra hard to make each event distinct when I was a kid. I could tell how much thought and love went into their effort and they’ve set a high standard.
    As far as how to divide gifts over the two events, I prefer for each day to be about equal. But if that isn’t possible, I recommend giving the most desired gift first and holding the others for the second gift occasion. This lets the person know right away that you’re listening to them and thinking about them, which is always a good feeling.
    Wow! I guess I could deliver a sermon on this. Its sounds a bit over-thought, but with almost 29 years of Christmas birthday, I’ve had time to ponder.
    Jamie – I love the gift experience tradition you have. It sounds specaial and fun with less pressure.

    • I didn’t know that your birthday was Chrismtas day! Did you always open your presents for both holidays on the same day or did you save some? You are the only Christmas baby I know! πŸ™‚

  6. DS’s birthday is the 22nd, and I have the same worries!

    I usually do real gift-gifts for Christmas (this year he’s getting a few cool little gadgets he’s been wanting, nothing big but fun anyway) and do the sentimental stuff for his birthday, usually stuff that won’t last the way things do, but will create memories instead. Like, for his birthday this year, we’re going snow skiing for the first time ever! So it’ll be his 30th birthday experience (coupled with a few sweet treats like a homemade dinner and a cake and stuff).

  7. Yum! Chris Madrids is one of our favs… unfortunately I always crave it on sundays and that’s the one day of the week that they’re closed. Tell Ducks happy b-day!!

    ps… ordered the book… and it is sitting in my appartment mailbox. Unfortunately, I dont have a key to said mailbox… ugh!

Leave a Reply

