Kids Say the Darndest Things

Cute story.

When I went to the med clinic on Friday, yes, I did end up walking around with the back of my dress tucked into my tights for a few moments. That’s not the point of this story (although I will say that I’m glad I was wearing a long jacket). Sigh.

This little girl who was also at the clinic was about 2 1/2 – 3 years old and ADORABLE. She had sweet little tiny braids and was walking around smiling at everyone, even though she looked like she didn’t feel well at all.

She found her little jacket on the chair next to her mom, picked it up and cuddled close to her mother’s chest. Then, she said, “Mommy, can you wrap me up like the baby Jesus?”

So freaking cute.

I hope when I have kids they are the kind who say and do hilarious things. My youngest sister, Amy, was that kind of kid when she was a baby. She would stand on top of anything – a stool, a book, a piece of paper and yell, “Lallie (that’s what she called me), save my life!” and she’d keep yelling it until I came over and picked her up from the precarious sheet of paper she was standing on, then she’d kiss me and say, “You’re my hero.” Again, so cute. She’s also the one who named my husband Ducks (actually, Ducky), because she met him when she was four (yes, she’s MUCH younger than me) and told him she wanted to call him Ducky because he was so cute.

Kids grow up too fast. She’s now almost 13 and wants perfume and earrings for Christmas gifts. Slow down!

Anyway, that’s a little rambly, but I just thought that little girl was too cute not to mention! 🙂

4 responses to “Kids Say the Darndest Things

  1. That’s one of my absolute favorite things about parenting, the things my kids say. Funny, honest, imaginative – just plain awesome!

    Love the “you’re my hero” story!

  2. Adorable. I too hope my kids are funny. If I have to spend that much time with them, they should entertain me. hahah

  3. OK, we have super similar sisters! Mine is 11 and although she never gave my husband a nickname, she did used to be super cute. Now she’s obsessed with having dance parties to Justin Bieber and asking for Season 3 of LOST. Um, what?

Leave a Reply

