Lenten Thoughts

Today is Mardi Gras, which was celebrated at our office by copious consumption of King Cake. Yum.

I’ve been thinking about giving up something for Lent, something that’s very near and dear to my heart. That something is reading for pleasure. I think all of you have seen my monthly reading lists and know that I am a voracious reader. I am not Catholic, but I sometimes like to give something up anyway. Why? Because it’s a good time to reflect on how great our lives are – that we can give up reading or chocolate or eating out or any number of other things, and consider something so simple as a hardship.

So, what do you think? I would also like to add a guideline that I would be allowed to read only while at the gym. Do you think that would be cheating? If I weren’t reading at the gym, I would only be watching “When I Was 17” or “Two and a Half Men” or whatever was equally ridiculous on the gym TVs. That gym time would give me a chance to read the book for book club but would set specifc reading parameters.

Okay, what do you think? Good idea? Bad idea?

4 responses to “Lenten Thoughts

  1. Ooooh that’s a good one since it’s important to you and will let you focus on other things. Hmm. I still haven’t decided, I am Catholic, and I have 3 hours. I was going to give up law school for most of today, but I’ve come back around. I still don’t know!e

  2. That sounds like a perfect lenten offering for you. I like that it’s not something that you were meaning to give up or cut back on anyway (sodas, candy, bad habit, etc) but rather something that you will notice is missing, and in the noticing, you will have a chance to reflect on how you’re going spend your time. I’m looking forward to hearing how it goes.

  3. I love this idea. It is rare to hear of someone giving up something they enjoy rather than something they want to change, and I think that makes it even more of a sacrifice. And I believe the gym exception is okay.

    I’ll miss your “what I’m reading” lists because I enjoy those and I think we have similar tastes, but I’ll know it’s for the greater good. 🙂

  4. Pingback: March Reading List | Legally Married

Leave a Reply

