Greener Grass?

Thanks, everyone, for all the good wishes regarding the interview. He got it! I am a PROUD, PROUD wife! ๐Ÿ™‚

The very, very nicest thing about this will be – having a normal life this summer. With his other job, he did a lot of driving and a lot of travelling. Now, with the internship, he’ll have a normal drive and normal work hours. So, we’ll be able to stay up a little later, have more fun and have a better-rounded life.

In other news, today is the official last day of my break. And I’ve come to the following conclusion. I would be AWESOME at being a stay-at-home wife. Seriously, people. During this five-day period, I’ve not watched a single episode of Ellen or Oprah. I’ve barely watched TV at all. I’ve done chores, packed lunches, ironed clothes, shopped (or more accurately, looked) for things for my house, etc., etc.

I would be wonderful at doing this all the time. I have heard people at both my jobs and in my professional life saying, “I could never stay at home; I’d be so bored.” I would absolutely not feel like that. I didn’t even read this week (except for at the gym), as per my Lenten resolution. Instead, I was productive and rested and unstressed and blissful.

Productive things I did this week:

– Volunteer hours

– Furniture shopping

– Cleaning

– Taking things to dry cleaners

– Finally framing some pictures in the collage frame that Ducks gave me for our first anniversary

– Ordering my new holiday organization bins

– Taking notes for my book

And more. ๐Ÿ™‚

Maybe if it were for more than five days, I’d feel differently. I do love my job and working in public relations. I just love doing my own thing more. This is probably the first time since my junior year of college that I’ve had any chance at peaceful productivity. And it was beautiful. But, maybe it’s just that the grass is greener on the other side of the fence?

As a law school wife, obviously I’m not going to be spending an extended period of time on the other side of aforesaid fence anytime soon.ย Instead, I’ll just focus on saving money, paying off the mortgage and paying off law school loans. And….THEN….in the future, we’ll see what happens.

10 responses to “Greener Grass?

  1. Congratulations to Ducks! (Sorry I’ve been comment MIA. It’s been busy and I’m just bad at it. Please forgive.)

    I think I need to work in my career before I decide to be a SAHW. My 5month unemployment stint showed no good signs for me. Lots of laying around and being lazy. But that could have been bc I didn’t have a choice. hahaha

  2. YAY for ducks!! That is so great. Keep J in your thoughts… He has an unpaid internship this summer, but is still waiting to hear back from the paid internship… hoping!
    I totally feel you on the stay at home thing. I think I would be awesome at it. So much to do at home- perhaps we missed our calling???

    • I will keep him in my thoughts – hope he gets it!

      At least with your prospective career, you can feel great about helping people….you will really and truly save lives. I, on the other hand, just babble about social media and such. So… while I like my job, it’s not as inspiring…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I agree – I would NOT be bored! So many things I want to do and work always gets in the way. Volunteering, play groups for my kids, my house would be spotless (I think?! Maybe not)…

    Congrats to your hubs!

    • I know – I think especially with kids, it would be hard. I am so impatient when I get home – how do you handle coming home to your kids and leaving the stress of work behind?

  4. Yay, Ducks!! You rock!

    Your week sounds so awesome and productive! I love working and will always have to (duh, law school loans), but I could totally stay home and manage that life too. I’m glad you had a good week off!

    • Well, at least when you are a wealthy attorney with all your loans paid off, you can come down and visit. Or, hey, you know, we could plan that now. You can teach all of us South Texas blog girls how to cook. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Congrats to you both!!!

    While I know I wouldn’t be bored per se, I also think I’d go nuts if I were in the house. I rarely come home during the day when I don’t have class…. I get kind of depressed when everyone else is at work school and I’m just doing domestic tasks ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. Congratulations on your husband’s internship! And I am with youโ€”I think I could actually (really) enjoy being a SAHW if I didn’t really enjoy seeing my co-workers every day.

Leave a Reply

