Stage Fright

Okay, it’s not really truly stage fright. I don’t get super-scared in front of a group. Instead, it’s more unprepared fright. And I could use some advice.

I’m going to assume that I’m in this situation because I’m good at my job, and therefore consider it a blessing. However, it’s a bit of a mixed blessing at the moment because of my haphazardness as a human.

I’ve been asked to give a presentation to a group of local professionals regarding social media. And it’s on Wednesday. And I’ve known about it for quite a while and have gotten way too busy at work and forgot about it. Then, I forgot about it again during my time off last week. What’s a girl to do?

So, then I thought – what better way to use the power of social media than to ask you guys, my lovely social media friends, many of whom also happen to be PR gurus.

Anyone have any good ideas for the presentation? I do not know what the demographic or the skill level for any of the participants will be, so I don’t know whether to start out very basic, or just assume that these people have a general level of social media knowledge. I am planning to talk about connecting, branding and engaging using a presentation I’ve created for another event, but I have to talk for at least 30 minutes, so I could use some help stretching it out! 🙂

11 responses to “Stage Fright

  1. I think you should give some sort of basic foundation. Ooh 30 minutes is a while. Perhaps you could find good examples of businesses using social media. Are you using a Powerpoint presentation as well?

    xoxo,
    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

  2. To get around the varying SM skill levels, you could instead focus on their industry and talk about how to use it in their industry. Your can give examples and studies talking about the impact of social media.
    Or, you could talk about tools to use in social media depending on the industry.

    • Good point – the industry is human resources, so I did some googling and came up with a few things last night. Would love any more advice or guidance you can provide. 🙂

  3. So here is the thing. I am terrified of public speaking. I had to have a glass of wine before my high school graduation speech to get through it. I was 17. It has only grown worse. Good thing I’m going into a profession that requires no such thing. Oh wait…………

  4. Oh goodness; I don’t think I have any good ideas for you, but I’ll wish you good luck! Just wear some good shoes and go in with confidence and you’ll rock it! 🙂

  5. As it is Wednesday, you probably have already figured outy our presentation topics -but still wanted to say good luck to you! Let us know how it goes!

  6. Sorry I’m late to this. How did it go? Awesome, I bet.

Leave a Reply

