March Reading List

This list is a short one. Why? Because, for the most part, I’ve stuck to my Lenten resolution of reading only at the gym. I cheated once – when I left the gym before I finished one of the books. I just had a few pages left and it was an irresistible temptation. So I read. (However, I do think this is a better Lent than when I’ve given chocolate or sweets and then had a moment of weakness and a sugar-binge).

Anyway, I digress.

My March books were as follows:

Daughter of York

I really like Anne Easter Smith and I really like the Plantagenet saga, so this was a good book. It wasn’t my favorite of the three of her books I’ve read, but I think it’s because I knew it wouldn’t have the ending I wanted. The best of her three books I’ve is The King’s Grace, but you should certainly read this one as well.

Daughter of York tells the story of Margaret Plantagenet, Edward of York’s sister and the Duchess of Burgundy. She grew up as the daughter of a warrior and the sister of a king, then perhaps the lover of the perfect knight, Anthony Woodville (the Queen of England’s brother). Is that enough confusing royal family tree stuff for you? Still, it’s a good book.

The Queen’s Mistake

As much as I love all historical fiction, pretty much across the board, I wasn’t in love with this one. I didn’t really care for the extra-looseness of Catherine Howard, fifth wife of Henry VIII. I mean, I know she was a little slutty, but she didn’t seem to put any feeling whatsoever into her sluttiness. I mean, if you’re going to risk your life by cheating on the king, why not put a little feeling into it? The author tried to make her intelligent, but if she were intelligent, why wouldn’t she have respected her marriage vows and not destroyed her life?

The Hunger Games

New Teacher New Wife knows exactly how long I’ve been waiting to read this book. FOREVER. I’ve been on the library waiting list for this book since last summer when people were raving about Mockingjay. Believe it or not, I’d never heard of the trilogy before that. I was number 65 on the library waiting list, so I was ecstatic to get this book, and it did not disappoint. Katniss Everdeen, a brave, bold, self-sufficient girl, takes her sister’s place in their government-mandated fight-to-the-death. She and Peeta, a young man from her district, scheme together in a bid to survive the Hunger Games.

I’m eager to read the next books now. Suzanne Collins really can hook a reader, and I am a fan of the dystopian novel, so I liked it. You should read it too. 😉   (But, why hasn’t she released a map of Panem??!?)

A Good Indian Wife

 

I really liked this book also. Think of it as Pride and Prejudice meets cultural anthropology. I’m not very familiar with Indian culture, so I liked the glimpse I got from reading about Leila’s life and her aspirations to get married to anyone, just anyone, as long as she wasn’t 30 and single. I recommend a read!

Writing Jane Austen

I like Elizabeth Aston a lot. Probably because I like Jane Austen a lot and most of Elizabeth Aston’s books build off the Darcy family or use a slightly similar framework to one of Jane Austen’s novels. Writing Jane Austen is the first modern-day novel that I’ve read, and while I didn’t love it as much as The Exploits and Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy, I still liked it. I also realized after I finished it, that Georgina, the main character’s, landlord’s last name was Lefroy, which as Janeites know, is the last name of the young man with whom Jane had a flirtation.

Anyway, this book is about an author being asked to write a novel based on a newly-discovered Jane Austen fragment, something that would be challenging for any writer!

So, that’s what I’ve got for now. I really want your recommendations for new things to read, too, so let me know what you’re enjoying!

** All pictures are linked back to the original sources. I linked back to the author’s pages as well within their articles.

14 responses to “March Reading List

  1. I remember when I used to read a lot of books 😦 Sigh. Thank you for the list though, I’m slowly building a list of what I want to read.

  2. if you’re looking to go into a classic genre, i suggest “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde. It’s a bit of a preemptive suggestion since I’m currently reading it and haven’t finished BUT it’s going pretty quickly and it’s a good one so far.

    • Thanks for the suggestion – have actually read it and enjoyed it. I love Oscar Wilde. Have you read “The Importance of Being Earnest”? Lots of great word play there also.

      🙂

  3. I loved the Hunger Games so much I read them twice. Are you #65 on the list for book #2 and #3 also? If so I will send you mine to borrow (seriously). It’s torture to have to wait that long.

  4. Can I just say that I cracked up at your summary of The Queen’s Mistake? “I mean, I know she was a little slutty, but she didn’t seem to put any feeling whatsoever into her sluttiness.” Awesome. Just, awesome.

    I haven’t read anything this year–so bad!

  5. Did you hear they are making a Hunger Games movie? The cast list is slowly coming out. So impressed at all your reading, where do you find the time? You must be a fast reader!

  6. Thanks for the reading list! I think A Good Indian Wife sounds fascinating. 🙂

  7. You are going to loooove The Hunger Games!!! Definitely the best YA books since HP. They will break your heart but they’re amazing.

  8. You are amazing! I’m so impressed at how much pleasure reading you do and how much you work out too.

  9. You are definitely going to tell me how you like the next two books in the Hunger Games trilogy. I have my own opinions, but I love hearing what other people have to say about them. And if you like the young adult genre you might want to try the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Its YA fantasy and really well written.

Leave a Reply

