Public Service Announcement: Exploding Brownies

DO NOT USE ANCHOR BAKING PANS.

This is a public service announcement. Otherwise, your oven will end up looking like this…

Need a recipe for exploding brownies?!

And you’ll have no brownies for your dad’s birthday. If you have sisters, you may be able to talk them into making another dessert, but that doesn’t mean that your stove will be clean.

Seriously.

I can’t believe that pan just exploded. If you look at the reviews online on Target’s website, every single one is like, “Explodes! Explodes! Explodes!” It’s ridiculous. How have they not done a recall on these products? I put it in the oven after it had been at room temperature. It had never been used before and I really did just remove it from the package, then rinsed it out, dried it and put it in the stove. Another pan of brownies was in there at the same time and IT didn’t explode. It was also made by a different brand.

But, still. Can you believe it?! Has this ever happened to you?

17 responses to “Public Service Announcement: Exploding Brownies

  1. Oh my gosh! What a mess! I’m so sorry that happened!

  2. oh. my. gosh. your poor brownies. and your poor oven! Mental anguish from losing said brownies, too! Don’t they know hubs is in LAW school πŸ˜‰

    seriously though, BUMMER! I’ll be sure to never buy those dishes, though!

    • Yeah, do NOT buy them. If you look on Consumer Affairs, there are pages and pages that detail this happening. I sent an email to Anchor Hocking’s customer service team last night, so we shall see what they say.

  3. Oh my gosh!! Seriously, I can’t believe this is a well-documented phenomenon and these pans are still on the market.

    And… I have to say this would be one of your top 10 funniest posts, except for the fact that your oven is a disaster now! So sorry, looks like not fun to clean up.

    • Haha – actually, my mom was in town this weekend and helped with the cleaning, so you can go ahead and laugh. I’m glad to provide comic relief, especially for a busy student like you. πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh my goodness! I’m making a mental note to never buy Anchor pans! Sorry about the brownies–that’s a terrible loss to have to deal with.

  5. I would CRY. That’s so ridiculous. I think you should at least get your $$ back and talk the manager of Target into throwing in some cleaning products πŸ™‚

  6. That is just plain CRAZY! Seriously they need to recall those pans!

    xoxo,
    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

  7. Yikes! Now’s the time to see if your oven’s cleaning cycle works.

  8. Oh god that looks terrible to clean to up! Lawsuit? Totally kidding. (ish.)

  9. holy cow!!! i’ve never seen this before! but then again, i’ve never attempted to use this brand before. wowee – i’m definitely staying away from anchor.

  10. Oh hon! I’m so sorry! Also about the brownies – didn’t comment on that one yet. Since you hit the third, maybe the string of bad luck is over. πŸ™‚

    P.S. If it makes you feel better, I was making Hubs my famous “tuna salad sandwiches” on Saturday and there were FISH SCALES in the cans of tuna. Ewww!

  11. I have to say, I’ve never had a pan explode on me. Crazy!

    • I couldn’t believe it – I’d never even heard of such a thing. But, then I read online that sometimes they’ll explode if you just happen to be washing them with hot water. Yikes! I wrote a lengthy complaint to Anchor Hocking and still haven’t gotten a response.

Leave a Reply

