An Appearance at the Office

Today I am nervous!

You may or may not be familiar with Fiesta. Yes, it is the Spanish word for “party,” but in our city, it’s also a three-week long spring celebration with parades, events, etc., etc.

And, this year, it will be my first time to meet my husband’s new bosses. YIIIIIIIIII!

The law firm is having a party to celebrate Fiesta tonight and we’re invited. I feel kind of like Kirsten Dunst in Mona Lisa Smile, when she has to have her husband’s boss over to dinner – just nervous about making a good impression. I have no idea what the party attire is supposed to be, so I just went with something I might wear to the office, as it starts right after work. Plus, for all I know, everyone else may be wearing vestidos.

I went with sundress that has kind of a festive theme, black bolero/mini-cardigan, black round-toed pumps, silver jewelry and a headband (which I’m thinking about ditching). Also, I am getting to the point of hating my hair. It’s getting way too long.

After multiple efforts, I discovered that I have zero talent for taking my own picture, so I enlisted L to photograph me, so you guys can see what I’m wearing and can give me some advice (as a sidenote, I really need a tan. But, the question is, how do you get a tan when you are busy all the time?).  The question is: headband or no headband? (the second question, though not applicable for today,  is – should I get a haircut?)

Headband

No headband

I also have a bit of a confession to make. I love being social and am good at connecting with people, but before any personal social event, whether it’s meeting one of my husband’s friends for the first time or going to a party like this, I have a tendency to freak out and think people won’t like me, that they’ll judge me and that I’ll reflect badly on him. It can get be so bad that I’ll actually ask him if he’d prefer for me to stay at home so I don’t embarrass him. He’s always supportive and has never given me the impression that I am an embarrassment or a disgrace to the family name or anything, but I can’t help the tension/anxiety. I never feel like this for work events, just personal stuff. Do you guys ever feel this way?

In the end it works out to be fine. In fact, people have called me sweet, funny, nice and even charming (because we’re so Southern like that). And, I’m awesome at job interviews, which is basically what this is, I assume, a job interview as a good intern’s wife. I’m hoping that tonight goes swimmingly, since if all goes well, we’ll be seeing a lot of these people throughout the rest of law school (since the internship could conceivable last through then).

Wish us luck!

12 responses to “An Appearance at the Office

  1. I love this post, for two reasons.
    1. Because I’ve had a post in my head for months about the appropriateness of various headpieces (headbands, bows) and I love that you wear them to.
    2. Because I kind of get to see what you look like!

    I’m torn here. Is it more party or more professional event? I think it’s cute and it says “fun personality” so if you think it’s a casual and fun event, wear it. If it’s more suits/ties leave it off.

  2. No haircut! Be Rapunzel! No tan unless it’s a spray! 🙂 Seriously though – I love long hair and mine is so slow to grow. Your outfit sounds cute. If in doubt, overdress. Wouldn’t you rather be the only one in a dress when everyone else is in jeans rather than the opposite? I ALWAYS am nervouse when meeting new people – especially for Hubs’ work, so I know how you feel. Just be your normal, sweet self and they will love you!

  3. Whoops – left a part off! The headband is super cute, but I also like just the curls. I am no help whatsoever. :p

  4. 1. I like the headband–cute!
    2. Good luck tonight!
    3. Have fun tonight! 🙂

  5. LOVE the headband!!! Plus, it’s a bit breezy, so why not do something to keep it out of your face and having to fuss with it all night… I’m sure you’ll be fabulous! Enjoy it! Fiesta sounds like a BLAST! one day I’ll make it down there for it! Can’t wait to hear how it goes 🙂

  6. You look so cute! I love the dress. I’m not a headband wearer, but you look super cute. I like with or without the headband though…um, I realize I’m not helping. You’ll do great tonight. Don’t be nervous.

    I love meeting my husband’s co-workers. I always tease him that they’ll like him more after meeting ME! He just rolls his eyes.

  7. Jessica @ Acting Adult

    You’ll be awesome! Just be yourself and smile. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Can One Word Wreck a Relationship? | Legally Married

  9. Ummm, we’re going to need a close up shot of that necklace!

  10. Pingback: Wondering about Wings (and Breasts) | Legally Married

Leave a Reply

