Historical QOTD: Wonderful Words

Today, I was watching “The Young Victoria.” I decided to wikipedia Victoria and I found a quote that was inspiring and interesting.

Usually, we think of Victoria as, well, Victorian. She’s the Queen for whose era the phrase was coined. We think of not being able to SAY the word “leg” in polite company, much less to show a leg or an ankle from under voluminous petticoats. Even table legs were covered.

So, think how wonderful and innocent and lovely this quote is, from a young Victoria in love, from the evening after her wedding:

I NEVER, NEVER spent such an evening!!! MY DEAREST DEAREST DEAR Albert … his excessive love & affection gave me feelings of heavenly love & happiness I never could have hoped to have felt before! He clasped me in his arms, & we kissed each other again & again! His beauty, his sweetness & gentleness – really how can I ever be thankful enough to have such a Husband! … to be called by names of tenderness, I have never yet heard used to me before – was bliss beyond belief! Oh! This was the happiest day of my life![56]
How wonderful is love. 🙂
 
5 responses to “Historical QOTD: Wonderful Words

  1. Aw, such a sweet quote. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  2. That is sweet! I love reading anything sappy and romantic – it always warms my heart. 🙂

  3. How heart warming to hear the words of a young girl so in love!

    xoxo,
    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

  4. I loved that movie about Victoria. And that quote just makes me smile – and miss my husband!

  5. That’s such a great quote!! I love love quotes!

Leave a Reply

