To Party or not to Party?

To HAVE a party, that is.

Yesterday was Ducks’ official last day of class (yeah, I know, it’s about time I write something about him instead of babbling on about myself all the time!). Random question – do you guys at other law/med schools applaud your professors at the end of the semester? Ducks said that someone starts a round of claps in each of his classes on the last day. Respect or sucking up? I don’t know.

Anyway, so today he will be enjoying the day off school and my sister will be enjoying the day off work. I, on the other hand, will be spending a very l-o-n-g and busy day in the office. How glorious. Although, to be fair, Ducks says it’s really like working overtime for him, since he’ll be studying all day. That boy is so serious about school. I would never be a good law student, because I would be all, “Day off! Time to sit in the sun and drink sugar-free lemon drops (which, sidebar, might be the best drink EVER).” But, no, he’s all scholarly and up at 6 a.m. this morning, trying to wake me up and getting all studious in his little office.

I will say that finals this time are much less stressful (so far at least). Hopefully that’s a good omen.

Okay, now I’ve gotten completely distracted from the purpose of my post, which is, what do you think about the idea of having an end of the 1L year party? Fun? A distraction? I would plan to have it at our house, make it fairly small and do it the Saturday after finals are over.

Decisions, decisions. I’m just glad I can use my brainpower on social gatherings, while my poor husband is focusing all his (for today at least) on contracts and torts.

7 responses to “To Party or not to Party?

  1. Love this idea. I was thinking about doing something similar for grad school graduation in August—not sure about it though, since we’ll have his parents in town. You should do it!

  2. Love this idea! I think we all went out to eat at the Elite Cafe for graduation.

  3. Hmm that sounds like fun!! In DC very few students have a house (or it’s way too suburban for most of the students to get to who don’t have cars) so we just do a bar thing usually. But if you think they can get there you should do it! That would be fun!

  4. I wish I had thrown my husband an end of 1L party. It’s such a great idea! If you can schedule it before everyone leaves, that would be awesome.

  5. I love the party idea. We’re planning one at our new place over the summer. It’s definitely time to celebrate finishing up the first year! I hope Ducks does wonderfully on his finals!

    Oh, and we clap too. Not in every class, but we do in our big classes. It’s kind of fun, but I think it’s more of a “hell yeah this class is over” kind of clap rather than a “you were the best teacher” kind of clap!

Leave a Reply

