1L Finals …. Part Deux

“Are you glad to have him back?”

That’s the question I keep hearing, now that we’re actually out of the last round of 1L finals. The answer, of course, is a resounding yes.

But, for the sake of posterity, and by posterity, I mean future wives and girlfriends, I’ll tell you a bit about the second round of law school finals.

First, they seemed interminably long. Really, truly ridiculously long. I guess part of that is because of my husband’s studious nature. He basically put himself on lockdown for a month before finals, only taking breaks to go to the gym. During the Fall 2010 finals, it was a little different because he would take time off to watch college basketball. This spring semester, though, had no distractions ripe enough to draw him from his books.

Second, I think it’s unfair that finals are both right around holidays. Easter and Thanksgiving are non-entities with law school finals. Basically they meant making a nice meal, spending about 20 minutes together while he ate, then parting ways again as he went into the studious abyss.

Third, these finals were a lot less stressful.Β Β Last year, the research and writing memo completion ran right up against finals study time. This year, there was a little more time, but that wasn’t the reason for the slight relief. I think the biggest thing was just that we knew what the whole finals routine was. We were prepared, and he was even more confident than last fall.

Fourth, there was a break to look forward to. Between me and Ducks’ new boss, we convinced him that a break was required. Last Christmas, he went back to work and worked the entire break. Then, during spring break he studied the entire time. But the new boss said that wasn’t going to be allowed – that he had to take two weeks off before going to work. So, I think knowing there was a breather up ahead was probably helpful as well.

I think always during finals it’s important to have a thick skin as a spouse. Not that Ducks has been crabby or upset or anything, just that it’s a stressful time. One of my failings is trying to make a big deal about something, like a nice dinner, then getting upset because I don’t feel that it’s been appreciated enough. Don’t do this. Find things to keep yourself busy, so that you don’t feel like you’re being ignored. πŸ˜‰

I took over dishwasher duty again during finals so that he would have minimal distractions. Ducks really does like to help with chores, but I didn’t want him to have too much to worry about during the stressful time of the year.

So far, things are looking to turn out well. We’ll see – all the grades won’t be out for a while. But, tell me all about y’all’s finals experiences? How was it? Congrats on making it through!

PS I have an exciting guest post coming up this week! Yaaaaay!

7 responses to “1L Finals …. Part Deux

  1. Aw, I feel ya! πŸ™‚ Totally agree about “having thick skin”. They’re just so focused that it’s important not to take anything personally. He is just working his hardest to provide a future for y’all and any Legal Babies.

    Also, the “Are you glad to have him back?” gets old really quickly. People are just wanting to show they care, but it’s almost as annoying as asking the parents of a newborn, “Is he sleeping through the night?” Ugh.

    I can’t even imagine going to law school (as fun as Elle Woods makes it look!) – just the plethora of things they need to know backwards and forwards (not just memorized!) Hubs had a friend who just tried to memorize everything and it didn’t work very well.

  2. Home stretch right? My husband is doing the CFA level 2 and it’s painful to be a bystander of the studying process. He started studying late so isn’t even sure if he’ll pass (but oh please do the studying won’t be like this next year!)

    xoxo,
    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

  3. Great post – I’ll be entering my 1L year this August and thankfully for my long-time boyfriend, he will get to miss out on the craziness of finals for both semesters. He is stuyding in Paris and will be coming back right after I finish my spring 2012 finals – coincidence? hmm…

    I will pass this on to him though so he can prepare for the hopefully less stressful 2L year πŸ™‚

  4. I hate finals season. It truly sucks.

Leave a Reply

