Feeling Brunch-tastic?

All you good cooks out there, give me some ideas! I am going to my parents’ house this weekend and have volunteered to be in charge of a Sunday brunch.

And, of course, I can’t think what to cook! Maybe quiche or breakfast casserole? It will be just me making things, so I don’t want to get super fancy; plus, my mom can be really blunt and mean if she doesn’t like things (on several occassions, I’ve brought items for holiday meals and had her tell everyone that “they just weren’t things she really liked,” although she did eat them).

So, please give me your idea of an easy, delicious, casual family brunch menu! Much appreciated!!!!! 🙂

7 responses to “Feeling Brunch-tastic?

  1. I think you’ve got the right idea with a quiche – they can be made ahead of time and kept heating. You can also make a fruit salad and/or vegetable platter (or pick one up) for nibbles. I have a recipe for cheddar scones that are delicious and can be made that morning and left sitting out (although they’re best hot).

    Cheddar chipotle scones (makes 6-8) http://ohmypuddin.wordpress.com/2009/11/07/the-best-of-dinner-club-part-2/
    I don’t have a quiche recipe on hand, but there are lots of good ones out there!

    For future reference, you should go to thekitchn.com if you have questions. They’re really good at answering them! If you tell them your cooking skills, materials, and time limit, I bet they’d put together a whole menu for you!
    http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/category/731/good-questions

  2. Haha I’m trying to imagine my husband and what he’d write if he had a blog like this back in the day. He was a law school husband and I can’t imagine it having been fun, with the extensive hours I devoted to law school, clerkships, or law review. Good luck and can’t wait to read more from your blog!

    A fritata of course, because they’re so easy, so good, and you can eat it at room temperature, though I think better hot. =) Instead of making crab cakes, which are more dinner-y, how about veggie cakes. Just like crab cakes but instead, you ground up mixed veggies, season with chipotle peppers, salt, and pepper, thicken with a batter of milk, flour, and egg, form into patties, cover with bread crumbs, and fry until golden brown.

  3. If I need something super easy that feeds a lot, I make sausage rolls. Buy ground breakfast sausage and a roll of pizza dough. Unroll the dough and spread the sausage out on top. Then roll it back up and slice it into pinwheels. Bake the pinwheels on a cookie sheet according to the pizza package instructions.

    You could also serve migas! And have lots of fun toppings so people can customize their own. I’m not an egg-eater, but they always look pretty tasty. Good luck with brunch!!

  4. bring champagne & oj! 😉 everyone will be thrilled! I love the migas idea, too!

  5. How about a Greek breakfast?

Leave a Reply

