Update on the Birth Control Saga

So, a while ago, I wrote a post about birth control options and trying out a new pill from my doctor. Since then, I’ve seen a lot of search traffic to my blog on the same topic, so I thought I should share my experience and let inquiring minds know how the new pill worked out (If you’re one of my two male readers, or if you’re squeamish about this kind of thing, should probably discontinue reading now). I really don’t love talking about this kind of thing, because I’m a private person, but I think this is information that could help women trying to make a decision on birth control options.

The pill I’ve been taking is Seasonique. I would honestly give it about an 8.5 out of 10. Here are some of the key issues of concern I’ve seen online regarding this pill, and my experience with them.

Time between periods. As you know, Seasonique is a three-month pill. So, I thought it was great, especially with lots of summer time activities, to go so long between cycles. Much more convenient, especially since we have done a LOT of travelling around the state this summer.  (10/10)

Spotting. I thought, honestly, from some of the horror  stories on the Internet, that the spotting issue would be horrible. I mean, if they’re forced to disclose it on all the commercials, it must be really bad, right? I actually didn’t find it that horrible. I had maybe five days of off-and-on spotting toward the end of the second month, but it was extremely light. Much better than having an actual period. (6/10)

Cramping. This is one category that I did not like (and this may be kind of graphic, sorry). One night immediately after sex, my stomach started cramping horribly. This was nowhere near the scheduled time for my period, so maybe it was just a one-off, but I did NOT like it. (5/10)

Weight gain. I was so scared of taking this pill because of all the crazy people online who said, “Oh, when I started taking this pill, I gained 70 pounds!” and that kind of thing. During the three months I’ve been taking Seasonique, I’ve actually lost seven pounds. I don’t think it’s because of the pill; it’s because I’ve been eating better. But, at least there wasn’t any water weight, etc., to contend with. (10/10)

Affordability. Our insurance is GREAT for this prescription, surprisingly enough. The supply, which lasts for 12 weeks, only costs $30. If I wanted to take Yasmin, my old pill, for the same length of time (just skipping the off weeks), it would have cost $40. So, it’s actually a savings. (10/10)

Emotions. Yeeps. I don’t know if I can be a true judge on this, but I was NOT happy with my emotional state (both literally and figuratively). However, it was only during the first two days of my period. I don’t know how much had to do with the fact that I was having a VERY difficult weekend at my parents’ house, dealing with my entire family, and how much had to do with the pill, but I had two days of crying whenever Ducks and I were alone, and I felt pretty sorry for him having to listen to me. But, then, it was really only 2 1/2 days, so it wasn’t terrible. (5/10)

So, for anyone out there considering BC options, I hope this helps. I think I would recommend giving Seasonique a try, but obviously it may not work the same way for everyone. This is just my personal experience, so it may be different for you, but I know I was looking for help and advice on this topic, so I thought I’d pass on my story to others out there. 🙂  I really look forward to the day when I don’t have to worry about this kind of thing at all because I’ll be having children. 🙂

PS Obviously, not compensated by Seasonique or its makers. Pretty sure they don’t know I exist!

5 responses to “Update on the Birth Control Saga

  1. Wow. You’re so ballsy to talk about this type of thing!
    I like the “user review” because as readers, we know it’s from a “real person”. I think this will definitely help others because they can read this and then make their own informed decision.

    The whole three months thing is awesome because our current insurance won’t “allow” me to skip the 4th week – I would just have to pay full price for the Rx – which is sooooo dumb.

    And you’ll semi-always have to worry about this (unless you plan on having 50 kids!) Ha ha! 🙂

    • Thanks – this is NOT the kind of thing I really enjoy talking about at all. But, I wanted to make sure that other people had some information available that was pretty reliable. I was scared to death contemplating a BC change.

      And I HATE when they make you pay full price if you need to skip a week. At some pharmacies, you can ask them to do a “vacation override” if you’re going out of town or something, and your insurance company might make an exception.

  2. This post gives me NOSTALGIA for that pill… I’m on LoEstrin Fe because that’s all my insurance will cover… It’s alright but Seasonique was awesome for me! Scary internet hype never came to fruition.

  3. I’m glad that I read this, I’m looking for a BC option to discuss with my doctor next month. I’ve never been on pills before, so this user review was right on time! Thanks!

  4. I’m so glad this has worked out for you! It really is trial and error with BC and it makes all the difference in the world when you find the right one. Yay!

Leave a Reply

