Oh, hey, blog world…

So, I’m back. September went by in a blur. Yep, we have officially flipped the calendar to a new month. We launched several promotions at work to start Q4, so that was making me crazy and seriously cutting into my blog time.

But, the main reason why I’m back here today is because I have a dilemma, and of course, I dearly love publishing my moral dilemmas to the blog world.

How do you feel about profanity? That’s the question.

Here’s how I feel. I am not living in an ivory tower. I know that there are bad words floating around in the universe out there. I know that people use them regularly. I’m not opposed to using one myself every now and again, especially if I’m feeling emphatic about something (really, would Rhett Butler’s famous parting line really have sounded the same if he said, “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a hoot.” I think not). I don’t judge people solely on their use of profanity.

UNLESS…

It continually spews out of their mouths without rhyme or reason. I experienced this on Saturday. We were out watching a football game (and by that, I mean, come on, THROW THE BALL TO KENDALL WRIGHT IN THE FOURTH QUARTER! Now, that was a situation when profanity would have been useful) and my sister and a couple of friends came in.

And her friends were non-stop with the vulgarities, obscenities and profanities (which, is a very interesting distinction). They used every kind of inappropriate word you could think of, and all in the span of five minutes, and all at the very end of the game, with no relation to the football game whatsoever (they were just babbling and interrupting my viewing with ONE MINUTE LEFT in the fourth quarter). And it just irked me.

One of the friends had never met us before. Never laid eyes on us, didn’t know our names, didn’t know…honestly….whether we might be ministers or missionaries or someone else vehemently opposed to that kind of language (which then begs the question of what we were doing in a sports bar in the middle of the afternoon).

But listening to that kind of talk made me realize:

1)  People who indiscriminately use bad language don’t sound smart. At all.

2) If that’s what I sound like when I throw an occasional expletive into conversation for emphasis, then it makes me want to cut myself off altogether. I would say I only average about two expletives a week now, though – residual effects of being Baptist, I guess. 😉

But, am I just being prejudiced? Or Victorianly old-fashioned? How do you feel about this?

And, I’ve missed you guys. I hope everyone in the blog world is having a lovely start to fall. 🙂

9 responses to “Oh, hey, blog world…

  1. I think I use the occasional swear word when appropriate, but for the most part I try to come up with other creative words to replace them. I get really uncomfortable when other people swear a lot around me.

  2. I probably (definitely) curse more than I should and it bothers me. Ironically, it also bothers me when others curse too much. But I’m definitely working on it.

    Except when it comes to football. That is the only time it is ok to shout obscenities (throw the #*$&@%! ball!). haha!

  3. Oh, also, I’m glad you’re back to blogging! Hopefully work won’t be too stressful now that it’s Q4. 🙂

  4. I curse a lot. I like it and I definitely disagree with anyone who says it adds nothing to the conversation. It changes connotation of the statement in most cases and adds emphasis to certain thoughts. (I wrote about it here if you’d like to hear my entire non-argument for cursing http://bitchitudeblog.com/me-and-my-potty-mouth/)

    On the other hand, overusing curse words removes their “crunch” . . . just like putting LOL at the end of ever text message or a smiley face on every tweet or highlighting an entire book. Suddenly, it means nothing.

    Are you prejudiced? Nah! We all judge because we are humans and the mark of an intelligent mind is one that changes its opinion when presented with compelling reason to do so. I think we judge people based on what they show us and if all anyone shows you is curse words, it’s only natural to assume certain things about them. And if anyone dislikes that, they should take a look at the way their presenting themselves and make sure that it matches what they think of themselves or what they want other people to think of them.

    • Funny thing – when my husband read this blog post, he said, “So, does that mean you take back what you said to me on Friday?” Oops. I guess that goes to show me that I’m certainly not perfect and I like throwing in a curse word as much as the next person (as long as they’re not these crazies tagging along with my sister). It’s not the use that bothers me; it’s the overuse.

      And I would never hold your typos against you. 🙂

  5. Holy motherchucker! Look at all those fahrvergnügen typos!! Bleh! I promise I know the difference between “their” and “they’re.”

  6. That’s an interesting perspective…profanity (as in swear words) doesn’t really bother me. In fact, I am quite an in a ca avid user of them. I do think its important to know who you are talking to though, and if it bothers the people you are around you should try to be courtious. At the same time, I get really annoyed when I am in a casual setting and someone gets really upset about people swearing, especially if everybody around is adults. Also, I swear a lot while watching sports sooooo I think its sixes?

  7. No comments on swear words here, but I did want to say I am so glad you are back to blogging. I’ve missed your posts and your snarky fun view on the world.

Leave a Reply

