Burnout

How do you ladies manage?

Jobs. Husbands/boyfriends. Some of you have kids or pets.

How do you do it all?

Right now, I’m so burned out. I’m not a writer currently. I’m not even much of a blogger anymore. Why? Because my job is so exhausting that I can’t even manage to wash my hair most days (sorry, that’s kind of gross, but I DO have really thick hair and it doesn’t really have to be washed more than every 3-4 days to still look fine).

I just got my first haircut in six months because I was off last week for the holidays (I don’t know how this turned into a blog post about hair. Whatever). Which, I incidentally realized, was my first time to be off for a week since 2008 for my honeymoon. And, during which I was called or messaged about work things on three of five vacation days. And, during which none of my colleagues took care of any of the things I requested they handle while I was out.

People think PR is a fun, glamorous and EASY field – that we’re the “party planners,” that we get to go out to luncheons and galas and whatever. It’s not. Sometimes you get to go to those kinds of things, but most of the time, you’re the one working yourself to death to make sure things go right, smoothing situations over for senior execs who don’t do what they’re supposed to, freaking out when vendors don’t show or don’t follow instructions, sweating bullets when the speaker says something inappropriate that is NOT in the talking points.

Right now, I desperately want my husband to finish law school so I can have some options in life besides mindlessly drudging along in a job that, to be honest, can be pretty thankless. Sometimes, I look forward to having a child so that I can take maternity leave and BE AWAY FROM WORK. Sometimes I fantasize about working on an assembly line or something equally ridiculous, just so I wouldn’t have to think about and be consumed by work constantly and I’d have some creative juices left in me by the end of the day.

This is totally just venting, and I’m doing it here instead of at my husband. I envy him because he’s eager to go to work during the break (still working at the same law office), and he loves going to school. When I see him sleeping in because he can set his own hours for work, or going home early because he “couldn’t look at the computer any longer,” I’m seriously seething with jealousy.  😉 But, he’s doing this to create a better life for us, which is really all one can ask for in a charming and intelligent husband, right?

Whew, okay, I feel better (at least a little) now. Someone tell me I’m not alone, that you feel the same way too!

PS Happy New Year and what are your resolutions?

PS 2 Sorry if I’ve posted something like this before. It seems to be a recurring theme.

5 responses to “Burnout

  1. ummm…yeah its called you don’t sleep. like ever.

  2. You know, I had a similar experience of burn out last year. And while I always agonize about taking time off, I called in sick one day and just let myself have a mental health day. I laid in bed all day, I read, I painted my nails, was generally very lazy. I refused to let myself feel guilty for it. It was fabulous and much needed and I felt better and more energized going back having just taken that time for myself. I hope things get easier, but if not, you really should consider a mental health day!

  3. Vacations are so necessary. Also when you are burned out, you realize that your entire life is based around work and you have to REALLY love work to prioritize it over everything else.
    I’m thinking about career and doing something I’m really passionate about…we’ll see but that is what life is about right (the journey). I am fortunate to have a supportive husband who has a stable job that pays well (you know I’m pretty frugal too) so I can think about what really makes my heart sing.

    Happy new year – I was just thinking it has been a while and I hope that this is the year of you!

    xoxo,
    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

  4. You are NOT alone 🙂 My husband is still on the PhD track, and we recently moved back to our home town of Austin so he could teach as an adjunct in San Antonio. I was working a pretty tough job in Beverly Hills before we moved (which I am ironically missing), and am now looking for a new job in Austin. The joy of following your husband around the country 🙂

Leave a Reply

