Signs and strangeness and your opinions

Have you ever asked for a sign, then actually gotten a sign?

In the past, I’ve actually seen a real physical sign – and I’m not being crazy or superstitious here. In two of the worst and darkest moments of my life, I’ve seen a double rainbow. those are the only two times that I have ever seen a double rainbow (besides in this ridiculously weird video) and I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that those rainbows were a sign to me that God was watching over me in those very, very bad times.

Now, a couple of days ago, I asked God for a sign about something else that’s been worrying me/weighing on my mind. And, since then, from three separate people/incidences, I’ve been told or taught, “Making no decision is worse than making the wrong decision.”

All mysticism and such aside, what do you think of that statement. “No decision is worse than the wrong decision”? Not in a moral sense, just in a sense of ambivalence, trying to decide about careers, families, life plans, etc.

Do you think it’s true?

 

2 responses to “Signs and strangeness and your opinions

  1. I think I agree. I would rather make a decision and think it was wrong down the road than float through life letting people or things dictate how I live. Does that make sense? I’d rather feel as if I have at least tried to go down the path that is right for me, God-willing!

  2. domesticnovice

    I’m a little late on this one, but I’ll put in my two cents.

    I think, for the most part, we generally know what will happen in a situation when we choose not to decide. It’s just easier, thinking that whatever happened isn’t something we chose sometimes, but in choosing not to decide, we are in effect choosing that outcome that we know will happen.

    As an example: I had a friend recently tell me that he was feeling conflicted about his long-term relationship and that there was a woman at work he found very interesting. He wasn’t sure whether he should distance himself from this woman, or whether he should just not do anything at all. I asked him what he wanted, did he want to save his relationship? Because if he asked himself truthfully, he knew what would happen if he continued on the path he was currently on. He decided to switch his shifts so he would no longer be tempted by this other woman.

    Another example, one that we used sometimes in torts class: Say there was a train barreling down the tracks. The tracks diverged at one point. On the left fork, the side that the train would naturally continue going down if nothing was done, there was a baby playing on the tracks. On the right side, the side that would be safe if nothing was done, five workers were sitting on the tracks, taking their lunch break. You have access to a lever that could divert the train down the other set of tracks if you pull it. There’s enough time to pull the lever, but not enough time to run to the baby or to warn the workers. If you do nothing, the baby will die. If you pull the lever, five workers will die.

    Sometimes decisions we have to make are just about impossible, but we generally know what will happen if we choose not to decide at all. Try not to think about it as making no decision at all. Instead, think of it as a choice in itself.

    I do agree with the sentiment that making no decision is worse than making the wrong one, but mostly in the sense that if you make no decision at all, you’re really choosing something, but you’re fooling yourself into thinking that you’re helpless. I hate feeling helpless. I much prefer to think that the things that happen to me are things that I’ve caused, through action or inaction, and that I have at least a little power over what happens in my life. That way, if I don’t like something, I know that I have the power to change it, should the choice come up again.

    (That was more than two cents. I hope whatever decision you had to make, you made the one that is right for you!)

    (Also, happy late birthday! I know what you mean about having birthdays ruined by law school… I now celebrate my “birth season”, which starts around mid July and ends in September.)

Leave a Reply

